Sabah

Who in the World is Ryan Christopher DeVault?

In Interviews on January 10, 2011 at 4:40 pm

He’s a stay-at-home Dad who enjoys spending time with his family, tuning in to the latest sports news and keeping up with the latest TV shows. He’s turned his hobbies and interests into a career, and Ryan Christopher DeVault continues to be among the top Sports and Arts & Entertainment Contributors on Associated Content by Yahoo!

He’s a full-time freelance writer and happy to have the luxury of working his own schedule. When he’s not busy writing and taking care of the fam, you can find him hiking or spending time exploring new cities. I caught up with this talented writer to find out what his writing goals are, and who has inspired him to continue building his flourishing writing career on AC by Yahoo!…

SK: How did you get started writing for AC?
RD: Originally I started out as just someone posting articles sporadically, and that lasted for more than a year.  When the 2008 Summer Olympics started though, I became extremely active, and really got into the flow of participating on the site.

SK: What inspired you to join?
RD: One of my friends was talking about how fun it was to write on Associated Content, so one day I finally decided to give it a try.  His name is Alex Diaz-Granados.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work is:
RD: Definitely Arts & Entertainment.  There is always so much going on in the television and film industry that you can miss a lot by taking a day off.  There are so many great contributors on Associated Content that provide quite a bit of news about what is going on in entertainment.

SK: What are your goals on Associated Content by Yahoo!?
RD: I do.  I want to become a go-to source of information for sports articles and television news.  I am so deeply involved in both that I feel I have a lot of information that could be valuable to others.  I want to eventually get to the point where I can also write movie reviews and people want to read what I wrote before heading out to the theaters on Friday nights.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?
RD: My most popular article is actually one that I wrote pretty recently.  I typically write previews of upcoming television shows, primarily when a season premiere is airing.  This year, CSI had Justin Bieber guest-starring, and my article just took off.  The tie-in of Justin Bieber made it extremely popular, and the page views just kept on coming.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:
RD: I typically start my day with ESPN.com, because the sports news world doesn’t stop just because we are sleeping.

SK: Three Contributors that have inspired you or whose work you enjoy reading regularly:
RD: Two contributors stand out immediately, because they have inspired me to really work hard at Associated Content on a daily basis.  They are two of the most read readers on the site, so I am probably not the only one, but they are Robert Dougherty and Saul Relative. Another contributor who has taught me a lot is Angie Mohr, who is always out there standing up for writers and trying to make Associated Content a better place for everyone.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?
RD: It definitely has to be Diet Pepsi.

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?
RD: I play softball on the weekends, and it is a great chance to go outside and get a little exercise.

SK: In addition to your Featured Contributor categories, what other topics do you enjoy writing about most?
RD: I enjoy writing articles about politics, but I am definitely not an expert in the field.  That is the category where I write the most articles where I am not a Featured Contributor.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC and Yahoo! Contributors?
RD: Associated Content by Yahoo! is what you make of it, and it is a place where any good writer can find success.  The keys are patience and determination, as well as finding enough topics that you enjoy writing about.  The playing field is set so that anyone can do it, and it comes down to the individual to make the most of that opportunity.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:
RD: “I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.” ~Douglas Adams

Leave a Reply

