Sabah

Who in the World is Jolie du Pre?

In Interviews on December 2, 2010 at 8:09 pm

She holds the enviable position of full-time freelance writer and is also a published author with short stories in over 15 books. Jolie du Pre has taken the Arts & Entertainment category on Associated Content by Yahoo! by storm with the latest dish on celebrity gossip, “Dancing with the Stars” TV summaries and updates on music awards. But her writing talent isn’t limited to Hollywood’s latest and greatest. You might already have stumbled across her work on Yahoo OMG!, Asylum, Good Meals, Parent Dish, Noise Creep, Spinner, Made Man, eHow and other online publications. Jolie is also the editor of three anthologies and has a new flash fiction site called Leodegraunce .

I caught up with this Chicago-based writer, married mother of two and “The Office” fan to learn more about her AC writing career…

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?

JP: I’d read on the Internet that AC was a place where you could make money with your writing. I was skeptical at first, and I asked a lot of questions when I joined. I was used to scams, and I thought AC was just another scam. The first amount of money I made was less than $5, but it was enough for me to see that AC was not a scam. Needless to say, today that $5 is but a distant memory.

SK: What inspired you to join?

JP: The positive testimonies about Associated Content that I had read on the Web inspired me to join. I also noticed that Associated Content articles ranked high on Google. That intrigued me.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work is:

JP: I work at home and when I browse, I tend to browse the types of articles I write. That would be anything Arts & Entertainment.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or do you publish exclusively on AC/Yahoo!?

JP: My focus, since November of 2009, is Arts & Entertainment. I now have a large body of content and a good amount of page views as a new AC Millionaire. I’m a Featured Arts & Entertainment Contributor and Yahoo! partner calls for Arts & Entertainment land on my desk daily. It’s incredibly exciting, and I’m proud of myself for getting to this level. I keep my foot in the door at other sites, but I write mainly for AC.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

JP: I wrote a fun article on Chelsea Handler and 50 Cent that TMZ linked to for a long time.(Editor’s note: Check out Chelsea Handler and 50 Cent — Did He Take Her to the Candy Shop?)

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

JP: Google Entertainment News

SK: Three Yahoo! Contributors that have inspired you or whose work you enjoy reading regularly:

JP: I am inspired by news writers Saul Relative, Sylvia Cochran and Roz Zurko. Valerie David is a writer I found recently on AC that I’ll be reading.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?

JP: One word – coffee.

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

JP: Is running a hobby or is running life? I also love to download books on my iPad and I love Facebook.

SK: In addition to your Featured AC Contributor categories, what other topics do you enjoy writing about most?

JP: My content used to be all over the place, but now it’s Arts & Entertainment. These are the articles I write and are all I want to write.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC/Yahoo! Contributor?

JP: Don’t quit. I quit to become a ghost writer, producing AC articles only sporadically, and it was the biggest AC mistake I’ve made.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:

JP: My favorite writing quote is Stephen King’s quote on How to Evaluate Criticism:

“Show your piece to a number of people – ten, let us say. Listen carefully to what they tell you. Smile and nod a lot. Then review what was said very carefully. If your critics are all telling you the same thing about some facet of your story – a plot twist that doesn’t work, a character who rings false, stilted narrative, or half a dozen other possibles – change that facet. It doesn’t matter if you really liked that twist of that character; if a lot of people are telling you something is wrong with your piece, it is. If seven or eight of them are hitting on that same thing, I’d still suggest changing it. But if everyone – or even most everyone – is criticizing something different, you can safely disregard what all of them say.”

  1. Jolie is a consumate professional and talented young lady! I have been a fan for many years! Richard J. Cronborg, Chicago artist/author.

  2. Great interview!!!!

  3. Yea, Jolie! I know you’ve been working practically non-stop and it’s paying off 🙂 You go, grrl!

Leave a Reply

