Sabah

Who in the World is Summer Banks?

In Interviews on October 25, 2010 at 3:31 pm

With over 1,100 pieces of content published on AC, Summer Banks is a busy Medical Assistant and freelance writer, turning out hundreds of articles on health and wellness, business, dieting and weight loss, and fertility. She’s been publishing on Associated Content since 2007 and is now a Clout 10 writer.

I caught up with this talented writer to find out more about her AC career and what has inspired to stick with writing on this site for almost four years…

SK: How did you get started writing for AC?

SB: In January of 2005, our family moved to Iron Mountain, Michigan and I left work to be a stay-at-home mom to our one year old twins. After 18 months, my brain was trying to push its way out of my ear and I knew I needed to exercise my most precious commodity. I started searching online for work at home jobs and stumbled on Associated Content in January 2007. Soon after I published my first piece, Confessions of a Cutter, and the rest (as they say) is Associated Content history.

SK: What inspired you to join AC?

SB: The ability to write words and be paid for it and occasionally share my passion on topics most people will not discuss. I have never been the homemaker type and needed, more than wanted, to contribute to the financial pot, so to speak. I needed to feel responsible for more than diapers and child care so Associated Content filled that void.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

SB: Health and Medicine. There is something about a great health piece that pulls me in every time. I have worked in various jobs in the medical field and aspired to be an orthopedic surgeon as a kid, so health is my first passion.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or do you publish exclusively on AC?

SB: Sure, I write for various other websites. Lately, I have been juggling most other platforms and clients in the air as I rediscover the power of Associated Content.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

SB: For a long time, that honor was held by an article I wrote after hearing about Lisa “Left-Eye” Lopez visiting Dr. Sebi. The article is on Electric Foods and has pulled in more than 66,000 page views. Recently, however, my article on Pregnancy After Hysterectomy pulled ahead with just shy of 75,000 page views.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day
SB: Google Scholar. Not really a website, more of an addiction. You can search for articles from journals so I visit every day to get my medical fix.

SK: Who are the three Contributors that have inspired you or whose work you enjoy reading regularly?

SB: I enjoy reading Lee Andrew Henderson and Tsu Dho Nimh. Lee fills me in on all the latest sports must-knows and Tsu publishes something every once in a while that makes me smile, laugh, think or fume – depends on the day.

There is one writer on Associated Content that inspires me and that is Richard Banks. Yes, he is my husband but he is much more than that. He supported my career choice when everyone else thought it was a time consuming hobby and recently chose to leave his 13 year career as an accomplished professional to put family first. Associated Content is his platform and every time he publishes I am reminded how lucky I am.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?

SB: Oooo, coffee and diet Pepsi are tied. There is nothing better than a cup of Java in the morning or a diet Pepsi with lunch – decisions, decisions…

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

SB: Cleaning – I know it is pathetic but there is no better feeling than walking into your home and being greeted by the scent of cleaning supplies.

SK: In addition to your Featured Contributor categories, what other topics do you enjoy writing about most?

SB: Green energy and advances in medical technology. Did you know there is nanotechnology that can focus chemotherapy at the site of a cancer infection? How about the fact that solar panels will soon be small enough to spray on the exterior of homes, cars and so much more? Breath taking.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Contributor?

SB: There is nothing easy, don’t believe the hype. If another writer tells you how easy it is to make this many thousands of dollars on this or that site in X amount of days, walk (or click) away. Freelancing and writing is hard, but like love, it is so worth the time spent.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

SB: “For years I was praised for earning this accomplishment or that while you supported me – now is it your time to be recognized – you’ve earned it, you deserve it!” Richard Banks

  1. I’m new to AC. Just found this interview this morning. A great story, Summer. And inspiring! Research and write on the toxic dangers of artificial sweeteners and non-green cleaning products. You hit on two of the platforms for which I annoy the you know what out of everyone I care about…and some I don’t even know :-). If you’d mentioned putting your cell phone to your head you would have hit on the third big one for me. I look forward to finding more inspiration on AC. Thanks for the very enjoyable piece.

Leave a Reply

