Sabah

Meet AC Rockstar Rose Elizabeth Kitchen

In Interviews, Writing for AC on December 27, 2009 at 1:36 am

Illustrator, musician and rockstar AC writer Rose Elizabeth Kitchen has been publishing away since December 2007 and has almost reached the 600-article mark. She’s a Featured Health & Wellness Contributor and has a background in healthcare as a freelance medical writer. She’s also an editor and writes on a variety of subjects including nursing, criminal justice, alternative medicine and dieting.

I caught up with this talented writer to find out what’s in store for her AC career and where else we can find her online…

SK: How long did it take you to become an AC addict?

RK: Just a few days.  Once I got my first upfront payment I was hooked.  It felt great to find a place that would pay pay me to produce great articles on the subjects that interest me the most.

SK: Why have you stuck with AC for so long?

RK: Because I believe in AC.  Sure the glitches are aggravating, but I truly believe AC has our (the Contributors) best interest in mind.  AC allowed me to learn web-writing while making an income.  By writing for AC I also picked up several private clients that contacted me because of my articles on AC.  The community also plays a major role.  The people I have met at AC are some of the most amazing people and they have greatly enriched my life.

SK: Out of all of the topics you write about, how do you decide which ones to develop or focus on in any given month?

RK: When a holiday is approaching I dedicate time to writing articles about that holiday because it always pays off.  When a holiday is not approaching I work on my niche which is health and wellness.  Health and wellness always pays off and it gives me the chance to still work in medicine without actually working in a hospital or clinic.  I like being able to further my medical knowledge and the knowledge of others by writing health and wellness articles.  I also keep track of medical news and awareness months and focus a few articles around those.

SK: If you could start your AC writing career over again, what is the one thing you would do differently?

RK: I would have taken the time to learn more about web-writing and SEO first.  I encourage all new writers to take advantage of the AC forums prior to submitting their first article.  If I could redo my first several articles I would.  Though they were written well, they really had no SEO and, for the majority of them, it shows in the page views.

SK: Do you use any social media tools to promote your content? If so, which ones?

RK: I do use Twitter and Facebook for my articles and the articles of fellow writers.  Since the Facebook auto-post isn’t working at the moment I have been manually posting some articles when I have the time.  Since I joined these two sites and began using them for promotion, I have noticed an increase in page views.

SK: Are you on Twitter? Tell us where!

RK: Yes, I am.  You can find me here: twitter.com/speedyturtle9

SK: What’s your all-time favorite book? Favorite movie?

RK: My all-time favorite book, though there are many favorites, is Number the Stars.  I read it in middle school for an assignment and haven’t been able to put it down since.  I make it a point to read it once a year.  It is a short book, but it is fantastic.  Movie?  I have several favorite movies as well, but if I had to pick a favorite it would be Forest Gump.

SK: Do you see yourself publishing with AC for the long-term? Why?

RK: Absolutely.  AC is the foundation of my writing career and it continues to be its’ driving force.  Also, the community is amazing.  As time passes, AC continues to reward me.  Sometimes with targeted calls, sometimes with partner calls, sometimes with special assignments etc.  I also know that AC has great earning potential.  If you dedicate the time to AC you will reap the rewards.  AC is what you make of it.  I decided to make AC a major element of my freelance career and it has yet to disappoint me.  In the end it isn’t even about the money, it is about the lessons I have learned through AC and the people there.  The AC community is by far one of the best communities I have ever came across in the writing world.

SK: Do you publish on your own blog?

RK: I have quite a few, but my online writing blog is the most popular and it is the one I dedicate the most time to.  It can be found here: onlinewritingplaces.blogspot.com.  I also have a personal blog at rockstarrose.blogspot.com.  And then there is A Ning associated with my online writing blog at onlinewritingopportunities.ning.com.

SK: Your top three content categories to publish in are?

RK: My top three categories include health and wellness and its’ subcategories, holidays, and local.

SK: If there was one thing you could change about AC, what would it be?

RK: I do wish the Contributors would be kept in the loop a little more than they are.  I understand some company secrets cannot be told, but it would be nice to know how and why certain glitches occur.

SK: What is your publishing goal for 2010?

RK: For AC, I would like to exceed 1,000 published articles.

SK: Approximately how many hours per week do you spend writing and publishing AC articles?

RK: Not nearly as much as I would like too because of other writing projects and school.  However, on average I spend about 5-10 hours a week publishing and about 20 hours per week in the community and working on community projects.

SK: Who are the five Contributors you think we should all be keeping an eye on…

RK: Only 5?  There are at least a hundred I would like to discuss, but I will list 5.  Lyn Lomasi is definitely one to keep an eye on, both her articles and in the community.  Tamara L. Waters writes really interesting articles and is very helpful in the community.  Angie Mohr is blunt, but she is a true asset to the communty and writes excellent articles.  Jolie du Pre is one of the most motivating Contributors in the community and she writes on important issues.  Carly Hart is always helping others and writes on a range of subjects.  Shelly Barclay is one of my favorite Contributors.  She does spend some time in the community and she writes the most fascinating articles.  Oops, I chose 6.

SK: Any final words of wisdom for AC Contributors at all Clout levels?

RK: Never be afraid to ask questions and realize that in the world of web-writing if you ever decide to stop learning, your career will stop as well.  It is an exciting and ever–evolving field and to keep up we need to continue to educate ourselves on new and current trends.  Also, it is hard starting out and often slow-going, but if you stick with it you will find success.

  1. Rose is such a great person and it was interesting reading her responses. Thanks to you both for a fantastic interview. Thanks also to Rose for mentioning me. I am honored. How nice! 🙂

  2. Excellent interview with Rose who’s making her mark at AC. Great to “meet” AC contributors in these “rock star” interview formats. Well deserved recognition!

  3. Rose! Thank you so much for mentioning my name. YOU are a hardworking, positive, motivating and intelligent contributor that I greatly admire. AC would not be the same without your articles and input. I enjoyed reading your interview and I wish you all the best for 2010!

  4. That was a great interview you two. I loved learning more about you, Rose. That was really great. Thank you very much for the compliment. I wasn’t expecting that, but I should have been because you’re such a sweetheart. Thanks for being such a great writer and enthusiastic reader. I hope that we’ll be reading each other’s work for years to come.

  5. Rose…you are such a sweetheart! I have learned a lot from you this year!

  6. Way to go Rose! There are not enough nice words to describe you!

  7. lovely article about a lovely girl.

  8. An excellent interview. I love to read this writer’s work!

Leave a Reply

