Sabah

Meet AC Rockstar Kassidy Emerson

In Interviews on December 6, 2009 at 12:52 am

As she makes her way to the 10 million – yes 10 million – page view mark, Kassidy Emerson has attracted a steady following with thousands of articles about gardening, DIY and home improvement, family and lifestyle topics. She’s an AC rockstar who’s been with AC since February 2005 and has worked as a professional freelance writer for over a decade.

With over 5,000 articles published on the web, you’ve probably run into a few when searching for how-to articles and product reviews. Here’s what Kassidy has to say about promoting her content and her plans with AC for 2010 and beyond:

SK: How long did it take you to become an AC addict?

KE: I started when the site was rather new. AC was craving content and  I was searching for a decent site to write for. When we found each other, it took time for me to trust AC because so many similar sites had gone belly up. Once I determined they were here to stay, we clicked, and I’ve been an AC addict ever since.

SK: Why have you stuck with AC for so long?

KE: I’ve written for similar web sites over the years. I can honestly say that I’ve never written for such a top-notch site before. AC values their writers. They reward good work and performance.

SK: Out of all of the topics you write about, how do you decide which ones to develop or focus on in any given month?

KE: I think ahead to upcoming holidays and special events. I also think about articles that match the month. Examples: Sept.-canning produce, Oct.- raking leaves, etc. I then brainstorm possible article topics. The ones I feel inspired about, I write.

SK: If you could start your AC writing career over again, what is the one thing you would do differently?

KE: I would have gotten serious about writing for AC earlier. (see #1)

SK: Do you use any social media tools to promote your content? If so, which ones?

KE: Mainly Digg and LinkedIn.

SK: Are you on Twitter? Tell us where!

KE: Yes, look for Kassidy Emmerson there. On Facebook and MySpace too.

SK: What’s your all-time favorite book? Favorite movie?

KE: I don’t have a favorite, but I adore Janette Oke’s books. She writes inspirational fiction. As for a movie, it has to be “Forrest Gump”. I love the way Winston Groom entwined history with the storyline. And who can forget the immortal  “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”

SK: Do you see yourself publishing with AC for the long-term? Why?

KE: I know a good thing when I see it. As long as AC treats me fairly, I’ll be there. I’m planning on continuing to grow together.

SK: Do you publish on your own blog?

KE: Not yet, but that’s one of my goals for next year.

SK: Your top three content categories to publish in are?

KE: Probably Home Improvement, (I’m an avid do-it-yourselfer), Lifestyle, and Arts & Entertainment.

SK: If there was one thing you could change about AC, what would it be?

KE: The website problems make it hard to navigate the site, read and comment on other work, and even publish, at times.

SK: What is your publishing goal for 2010?

KE: I haven’t really planned next year yet.

SK: Approximately how many hours per week do you spend writing and publishing AC articles?

KE: It really varies. It depends on how much other work I have to do that week.

SK: Who are the five Contributors you think we should all be keeping an eye on?

KE: This is difficult since there are sooo many talented writers. Saul Relative has to be my first choice since he’s zooming along in PVs. As for the others, it’s hard to tell who’s going to up and take off.

SK: Any final words of wisdom for AC Contributors at all Clout levels?

KE: Write, write, write!

  1. This was an extremely motivational interview. Thanks so much!

  2. Thanks Kassidy for a great interview. You have definitely inspired me to write more. Got to go write!

  3. Excellent interview, and what an awesome accomplishment. You rock, Kassidy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

