Sabah

Meet AC Rockstar plntpolice

In Interviews on November 16, 2009 at 7:00 am

photo-1

You probably know her as plntpolice on Associated Content, but Rose Field is an online publishing maven with a background in journalism and horticulture, sharing tips and advice about gardening, jewelry making and lifestyle topics.

Rose has been publishing on Associated Content since February 2007, and has been using social media tools including Facebook and Twitter to share her work with the world.

Here’s what she has to say about her experience with AC, her 2010 publishing goals, and some insights about writing online:

SK: How long did it take you to become an AC addict?

RF: A few months, because I dabbled around on some other writing sites and compared the results before deciding that AC worked for me.

SK: Why have you stuck with AC for so long?

RF: It offers freedom. I’ve never been a prolific producer. Sometimes I don’t publish for weeks at a time. Plus, my topics vary widely, and with AC, I feel that when inspiration strikes I can submit what I want, when I want; no pressure. I love that.

SK: Out of all of the topics you write about, how do you decide which ones to develop or focus on in any given month?

RF: My main interest and area of expertise has always been horticulture, so I continue to do plant related articles, and they perform for me. For quite a while I made jewelry and wrote a few articles on that topic, but they’ve gotten so-so views, and I stopped.

My most personally rewarding article discussed my cat’s leg amputation. Many people contacted me with questions and stories or left comments when their cat underwent an amputation. For once, I felt like my writing made a meaningful contribution to others and the comments were gratifying. Not to mention, the article has almost 15,000 PVs and adds about 1,000/month. I’m planning a follow up article on Zipper’s progress. Other than that, I let my writing go where ever my interests lead at any given time; sorry to confess I’m not cleverly intentional about any of it.

SK: If you could start your AC writing career over again, what is the one thing you would do differently?

RF: I’d write more often. I could have a considerable body of work, bringing in good monthly income by now if I’d submitted frequently. My personal situation is my standard excuse, but to be honest, it boils down to discipline and focus issues. If I write, I can make some money, and I need money, it’s that simple! I’ve been a fool, but I’m getting a wee bit better.

SK: Do you use any social media tools to promote your content? If so, which ones?

RF: When I like a given article, I put it up on Facebook, but I try not to overdo it so as not to make my friends weary. It automatically posts on my blog, too. I use Twitter, Delicious and Stumble Upon. I tried Technorati, but my stuff isn’t really right for that.

SK: Are you on Twitter? Tell us where!

RF: http://twitter.com/RoseFieldWrites I hate Twitter, but another site where I write encourages its use, and I gave in.

SK: What’s your all-time favorite book? Favorite movie?

RF: I love both books and movies and could spout lists all day. For your reader’s sake, I’ll limit it to writers Kate Atkinson, Kathleen George, and Anne Tyler currently. I adore the classic Jane Austen movies because of the scenery. Loved Adaptation and Children of Men.

SK: Do you see yourself publishing with AC for the long-term? WhyRF: Yes, I intend to stay here, and I intend to publish more frequently, because the PV payments added to the up fronts make it worthwhile. I’m a bit worried that many good topics are over saturated, but I need to stretch my imagination.

SK: Do you publish on your own blog? If so, please provide a link:

RF: http://plntpolice.wordpress.com/ No one reads it because I rarely write new entries, but it’s interesting that the few who do find it via search engines frequently click through to 2 or 3 certain AC articles I’ve mentioned.

SK: Your top three content categories to publish in are….:

RF: Horticulture, pets, health/medical.

SK:  If there was one thing you could change about AC, what would it be?

RF: The endless, frustrating technical glitches!

SK:  What is your publishing goal for 2010?

RF: I want to write an article a week. And I think I’ll change my name, but I don’t know if I’ll lose the few folks who follow me.

SK: Approximately how many hours per week do you spend writing and publishing AC articles?

RF: Right now, two every other week, but I read, comment and promote about an hour per day.

SK: Who are the five Contributors you think we should all be keeping an eye on?

RF: Danny Forst, Melissa J. Miller, Morag Mortimer-Smythe, BeelineBuzz, and Maria Roth

SK:  Any final words of wisdom for AC Contributors at all Clout levels?

RF: Maintain integrity in your content. Endeavor to use solid reference sources and fill each article with factual, useful information, not bumbling fluff.

  1. Congrats on being profiled.

  2. Rose is my favorite on AC! Go Rose! CONGRATS & keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

