Sabah

Meet AC Rockstar Agnes Farside

In Interviews on November 8, 2009 at 7:02 pm

annaShe’s one of AC’s Top 1000 Contributors and juggles a full-time job and writing articles on a wide range of topics. Agnes Farside has been on AC since September 2007 and published over 400 articles on crafts, hobbies, movies, gardening, travel, fitness an quilting. Here’s what this AC rockstar has to share with her fans and AC Contributors:

SK: How long did it take you to become an AC addict?
AF: I was hooked right from the start.

SK: Why have you stuck with AC for so long?
AF: AC allows me to write on just about any subject.  The site is easy to maneuver and I love getting paid for my articles.

SK: Out of all of the topics you write about, how do you decide which ones to develop or focus on in any given month?
AF: What I write about depends on a lot of things.  The seasons inspire me to write timely articles pertaining to each one.  Holidays or any upcoming event can also get me thinking of writing an article.  I do crafting, gardening and love to quilt, which provide great topics to write about.  I might write my thoughts on a hot political topic or a personal issue that affected me in some way.

SK: If you could start your AC writing career over again, what is the one thing you would do differently?
AF: I would research more on how to write my articles to be more searchable on the internet.  I would not rush and would profread for errors more.

SK: Do you use any social media tools to promote your content? If so, which ones?
AF: I use FaceBook to promote my articles.  I work full time and do not have time for much more than that.  I have printed cards with my AC url on it and pass them out to people at various venues.

SK: Are you on Twitter? Tell us where!
AF: I’m not on Twitter.  As stated above, I just don’t have the time.

SK: What’s your all-time favorite book? Favorite movie?
AF: My all-time favorite book is ‘The Jungle’, by Upton Sinclair.  My favorite movie is ‘Plains, Trains, and Automobiles’.

SK: Do you see yourself publishing with AC for the long-term? Why?
AF: Yes, I plan on staying with AC, as long as they’ll have me.

SK: Do you publish on your own blog? If so, please provide a link:
AF: I have no blog.

SK: Your top three content categories to publish in are….:
AF:
Crafts and Hobbies
Gardening
Opinion and Editorial

SK: If there was one thing you could change about AC, what would it be?
AF: I would fix it so the ads and content loads each time an article is viewed.

SK: What is your publishing goal for 2010?
AF: My goal for 2010 is to publish at least 100 articles.  I would like these articles to be interesting and hold the readers attention.  Several of my articles have been linked to WSJ, USA Today, and a couple other sites.  I’d like to see that happen again in 2010.

SK: Approximately how many hours per week do you spend writing and publishing AC articles?
AF: I spend 3 to 4 hours a week.  I commute to work and do most of my writing on the bus to and from work.

SK: Who are the five Contributors you think we should all be keeping an eye on…
AF: This is a hard question.  I have many favorites and there are new contributors coming onboard at AC everyday that have outstanding articles.

SK: Any final words of wisdom for AC Contributors at all Clout levels?
AF: Use text editors if you have them.   I love Word, because it will show what grade level my writing is geared for and the level of reading, whether it is a hard or easy read.  This helps me a lot when I am writing.  Set up Google alerts. Using Google Alerts is how I found out about being linked on WSJ and USA Today.

  1. It is always nice to know more about the writes on AC. I’ve been reading Agne’s material for awhile now and am glad to see her showcased.

  2. Agnes does a lot behind the scenes for AC, that people don’t know about.

  3. I agree with both jcorn and Carl. I’ve enjoyed reading Agnes’s articles. Plus, it’s nice to see someone who has encouraged others be spotlighted. Keep up the nice work, Agnes. I know you will hit your goals for 2010 and a lot of us are rooting for you.

  4. Agnes has some fabulous articles and I have finally met someone else who does not have a blog! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Agnes is awesome! Beyond the great articles she writes, she’s been extremely helpful in helping Team AC gather information and troubleshoot bugs. Very pleased to know she plans to stick around AC long-term. 🙂

  6. I’ve been a fan of Agnes’s work for awhile and really enjoyed reading more about her. She is very much an asset for AC!

  7. Thanks for the kind comments, everyone.

Leave a Reply

