Sabah

Meet AC Rockstar A. Hermitt

In Interviews on November 1, 2009 at 6:58 pm

ahermittA busy homeschooling mom, A. Hermitt has been rocking the AC waves since March 2005 and published over 1,400 pieces of content. She’s one of AC’s most prolific writers, publishing on topics including parenting, home and garden, education and interior designing amongst dozens of others.

I caught up with A. Hermitt to find out why she’s stuck with AC for so long, and what she hopes to accomplish in 2010:

SK: How long did it take you to become an AC addict?

AH: I wouldn’t call myself an addict, but it took me about a year to see the value of it.  I submitted a few articles when the website we new and came back a year later to find I had a bunch of traffic, so I started writing regularly.

SK: Why have you stuck with AC for so long?

AH: I’m kind of loyal… like a puppy.

SK: Out of all of the topics you write about, how do you decide which ones to develop or focus on in any given month?

AH: I try to write within the season, pulling events from news or life to write about.  That keeps the writing fresh and relevant.

SK: If you could start your AC writing career over again, what is the one thing you would do differently?

AH: I would have taken a different approach to making videos.  I HATE the videos I made a few years ago.

SK: Do you use any social media tools to promote your content? If so, which ones?

AH: I use Twitter and Facebook.  My performance payments have increased 50% since I started tweeting my articles.

SK: Are you on Twitter? Tell us where!

AH: You can find me at  @ahermitt

SK: What’s your all-time favorite book? Favorite movie?

AH: My favorite book is The Color Purple…. the movie comes in second for me.  My favorite movie is Coming to America.

SK: Do you see yourself publishing with AC for the long-term? Why?

AH: Yes.  I have worked for other websites, and AC continues to compete well for me. As long as it is feasible to do so, I will publish on AC.

SK: Do you publish on your own blog?

AH: I have several blogs:

There is a blog at www.ahermitt.com
My homeschooling blog is at http://nfahm.blogspot.com
My homeschool links blog is at freehomeed.com
I write for families.com at http://members.families.com/ahermitt/blog
I also write for Examiner.com at http://www.examiner.com/Atlanta-Education_and_Schools.html
and  http://www.examiner.com/x-673-Education-Headlines-Examiner
there are more, but those are the ones I focus on.

SK: Your top three content categories to publish in are?

AH: Education, Frugality, Real Estate

SK: If there was one thing you could change about AC, what would it be?

AH: More predictable payment structure.  I get decent up fronts, but would love for them to be a little higher and have a better idea of what they want. After 3+ years, you would think I would know.

SK: What is your publishing goal for 2010?

AH: I don’t have a publishing goal for 2010, but I want to get to 1 million views a month by the end of the year.  (This year I am on goal for 2 million for the whole year.)

SK: Approximately how many hours per week do you spend writing and publishing AC articles?

AH: Probably 10 hours

SK: Who are the five Contributors you think we should all be keeping an eye on?

AH: Lyn Lomasi, Saul Relative, Sabah Karimi, Paula Neal Mooney, and Karen Francis

SK: Any final words of wisdom for AC Contributors at all Clout levels?

AH: Read, read, read.  Follow the best contributors to get a feel of what works.  Don’t get into flame wars in your comments section… let the ignorant hang themselves and concentrate on your writing.

  1. Great interview, you two. I have been following Ms. Hermitt’s work around the web since joining AC. She’s awesome! Thanks for mentioning me as someone to keep an eye on. Wow, very nice compliment! 🙂

  2. Great interview. I enjoyed reading it.

  3. I love how Andrea will tell it to you straight! I’m proud to be her friend.

  4. Thanks for doing this interview, Sabah! A. Hermitt is an AC superstar for sure, and I second all of her recommedations. 🙂 Checking out her blogs and such right now.

  5. AW… Thanks guys…. hey Darla!

  6. Great interview – I really enjoy reading these and getting to know more about the Contributors on AC. I’ve enjoyed Andrea’s work for awhile now.

Leave a Reply

