Sabah

Who in the World is Dr. David Leader?

In Interviews on September 17, 2009 at 11:40 am

drleaderAfter practicing dentistry full time in Malden, Massachusetts for over twenty years, Dr. David Leader was able to land a teaching position at the prestigious Tufts University School of Dental Medicine in Boston.

Now, Dr Leader will begin studying in September, for a Master’s degree with a concentration in Health Communications at Tufts University Medical School’s Department of Public Health.  He says that in the month he receives his degree, his son, AC Contributor Andrew Leader, will graduate from The Cooper Union in New York City, and his daughter, Allison, will graduate from Essex Agricultural and Technical High School in Danvers, Ma.  This busy dad, dentist, guitar player and politics enthusiast made some time to share some thoughts with on The AC Weekly:

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?
DL: I explored Associated Content after seeing an ad for writers on Craigslist in May 2005.  I write a column for The Malden Observer, a town weekly owned by the Boston Herald.  My editor pointed out that I own the copy rights on my articles.  He recommended that I use them in some gainful way.  Associated Content seemed like a great platform.

I submitted all of my articles to AC by June.  It became a habit.  I began submitting every article I wrote to AC when appropriate.

SK: What inspired you to join?
DL: I joined Associated Content when I examined the site and found that there were some authors who wrote at a high level.  I wished to be part of that group.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work is:
DL: I enjoy reviews of motorbikes including motorcycles and scooters, motorcycle accessories, recommended routes, and motorcycle and scooter clubs.  Of course, I read a great deal about health and wellness.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or do you publish exclusively on AC?

DL: I write for the Journal of the Massachusetts Dental Society, The Scleroderma Foundation, and The Malden Observer.  I have written for many other web sites and publications.  Interestingly, I have gotten some writing and consulting business from people and companies who read my articles on Associated Content.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?
DL: My most popular dental article is “How to Replace One missing tooth – Bridge or Implant”, at 83,500 views since April 2006.  For some unknown reason, this article gets an unbelievable amount of traffic every month.  I hope that other dentists link to it on their office web sites.
My most popular non-dental article is a review of the venerable Honda Reflex Scooter.  I owned such a scooter for five years and 20000 miles.  I loved this bike, and I guess there are many who share that feeling.  This article has recorded 44,700 hits since July 2006 and gets about 1000 more each month.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:
DL: I visit FaceBook a few times a day.  I use FB to keep up with friends and former students.  I have reconnected with several old friends and classmates.  I am helping to run my 30th junior college reunion on FaceBook.

SK: Three Contributors that have inspired you or whose work you enjoy reading regularly:
DL: There are many Associated Content contributors that I respect and enjoy reading.  These include Alfonso Coley, Maricon Williams and Lolaness.  However, if I must choose only three I must mention Carol Bengle Gilbert, a prolific author who writes fantastic political pieces with which I do not always agree, Roy Barnes who writes detailed and thorough reviews and travel logs, and Sherri Granato who is an expert on the supernatural.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?
DL: I love a strong dark roast.  I can see The New England Coffee Company’s factory from my office window.  Their Italian Roast is wicked good.  I buy it from their own Coffee Emporium on my lunch hour.

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?
DL: I am a motorcyclist and a dentist.  I enjoy both about equally.

SK: Your favorite article topics to write about are…
DL: Since I enjoy motorcycling and dentistry so much, it is no wonder that I enjoy writing about both.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Contributor?
DL: My advice to any AC contributor is that no one can see your talent until you have transcribed it.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:
DL: Semper Letteris Mandate.  Always get it in writing.

  1. Appropriate quote!

  2. Great interview. Dave’s work is phenomenal. (and thanks for the vote of confidence, Dave!)

  3. Excellent article! Thank you for the kind words sir.

Leave a Reply

