Sabah

Who in the World is Jeffrey Weeks?

In Interviews on September 2, 2009 at 8:00 am

jeffreymugHe’s the weekly columnist for the Brunswick Beacon newspaper in North Carolina and an award-winning freelance writer with a passion for saltwater fishing and popular entertainment.

Jeffrey Weeks is also a prolific Contributor on AC, and has been drumming up articles about seafood, music, movies, and entertainment reviews since April 2009. He’s also one of AC’s ‘Rising Stars’ for 2009.

I caught up with this busy dad, writer and fishing enthusiast to find out who in the world Jeffrey Weeks really is…

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?
JW: I’ve written for a local newspaper for years and started up a blog. Lots of fishing reports, updates on my girls, and entertainment commentary. I wanted to do some really long posts on it, but didn’t want to clutter it up. AC was perfect. I can do my short stuff on my blog and link to the long stuff on AC!

SK: What inspired you to join?
JW: It’s a very cool name. I like to feel associated. It’s better than feeling disconnected.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work is:
JW: Arts and Entertainment. I’m a huge fan of Joss Whedon (of Buffy the Vampire Slayer fame) and a lot of actors and actresses associated with sci-fi/fantasy stuff. I love the shows Smallville, Fringe, and Dollhouse—and the cancelled shows Buffy, Angel, and Firefly. Allison Mack is a goddess.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or do you publish exclusively on AC?
JW: I write a weekly fishing column in a local newspaper. Other than my blog posts I do my entertainment writing, as well as some fishing and sports stuff, on AC.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?
JW: Simple Rigs Make Live Bait Fishing Easy. I guess people like to learn the easy way to catch fish. Also, quite a few folks were concerned about the fate of the TV show Dollhouse, as FOX to Announce Fate of Dollhouse on Monday was hit a lot. The show, fortunately, was renewed. I recently put out Who Is Felicia Day? You NEED to know.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:
JW: You mean besides that amazing blog A Dash Of Salty at saltyweeks.blogspot.com? Oh, I guess you do. Well, I can never go a day without checking whedonesque.com, a site geared to fans of Joss Whedon’s work.

SK: Three Contributors that have inspired you or whose work you enjoy reading regularly:
JW: Lori Lane, Robin Vinci, and Paul Diamond Blow are three I read all the time. I like Paul because he throws curve balls.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?

JW: Coffee, black, fast, now. More.

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?
JW: Fishing, by far. I’ve been fishing practically since I could walk. There’s nothing better for the spirit, IMO. I am also one hell of a cook. And my DVD collection rocks.

SK: Your favorite article topics to write about are…
JW: I write about fishing a lot, and also cooking fish or any type of seafood. I also cover entertainment as it relates to some very good current TV shows: Smallville, Fringe, and Dollhouse. I’m a Carolina Panthers and Atlanta Braves fan and will write on them occasionally. I seem to mention beautiful actresses quite a bit: Anna Torv, Felicia Day, Allison Mack. Not sure why that happens.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Contributor?
JW: Write what you know. And be original. Oh, wait a minute…

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:

JW: “Hearts are worn in these dark ages. You’re not alone in this story’s pages.” Sarah McLachlan wrote that. Very wise. The world is screwed, but you don’t have to be.

  1. I like his style and wit in this interview. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. I think he is am amazing writer with great knowledge, talent and humor.

  3. I enjoy the recipes, the intelligent angles on fishing ideas and news. I also tune in to his weekly program plugs. I suggest everyone do the same. Not only are the articles well rounded, they are intellectually sound. Five-star quality, thumbs up for Jeffrey Weeks. A special thanks to Mr. Weeks for all he has supplied North Carolina, and myself.

Leave a Reply

