Sabah

Who in the World is John Myers?

In Interviews on May 6, 2009 at 9:00 am

john-at-home-spring-08-2After a successful 15-year career in banking, John Myers decided to turn his sights on a more satisfying career path, and is now an ESL teacher and aspiring writer who’s determined to share his teaching and writing talents with the world. He says he loves music, dancing, roller coasters and coooking, and enjoy spending time with his two cats Dylan and Diego.

I caught up with this busy writer to find out what he’s been doing on AC, and what keeps him motivated:

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?
JM: I’ve always had a yearning to write.  I first discovered AC and Helium around the same time back in 2007.  After a few months of writing for both, I pretty much gave up on Helium because I thought AC gave me more freedom and was a better fit for me.

SK: What inspired you to join?
JM: I liked the look and feel of the site, and I felt that AC would give me the freedom to express myself in ways that Helium didn’t.  Helium was my primary choice in the beginning, but as I began to get more comfortable with AC, I gravitated more towards it.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work is:
JM: I have many favorite categories at AC, but when I’m in work mode I tend to check out sources in the Education category.  I’ve gotten some good ideas there and hopefully given some, as well.  I also enjoy personal stories and opinion pieces, especially ones that involve people in the gay community.  I identify with many of the points of view there.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or only on AC?

JM: As I mentioned earlier, I wrote for Helium for a few months.  I’ve got 43 articles over there, but haven’t written for them in a long time.  I also maintain a blog, “John’s Writing Blog”, where I repost many of my AC articles with image support, and “Rants”, for stuff I wouldn’t necessarily post on AC.  Since time is short, and I’ve put more of my efforts into AC recently, I haven’t been too active on those either.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?
JM: By far, my most popular title is “Gayspeak: Is There a Gay Language?”.  After 15 months on the site, it’s still a consistent producer of hits.

My most commented on articles have been the ones about my recent breakup.  It’s actually a series of articles, a journal of sorts, of my experiences with an unhappy relationship and the aftermath of its demise.  I’ve had many compassionate and uplifting comments on those articles that have inspired me in both my writing and my life!

The most newsworthy article, in my opinion, is my very first post here at AC, “Modern Day Mass Media; How the Few Decide for the Whole”.  It was a thesis I wrote for my Master’s Degree, and it speaks to how the foundations of our democracy are shaped by our national discussion, which is shaped by a very select few.  It’s a story not often spoken about, yet its implications are far reaching and very real.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:
JM: I’m an avid Internet addict, so I frequent many sites on a regular basis.  Two that I visit everyday are Yahoo and of course, AC.

SK: Three Sources that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:
JM: Over the past several months, I’ve come to get to know many Sources.  I gravitate towards writers with whom I identify personally.  I believe a writer’s personality shines through their writing, in both subject matter and style of writing.  Based on these criteria, three of my favorite AC Sources are:

Patricia Sheasley Sicilia – Patricia first came to my attention from a comment she posted on my “Breakup” articles.  She reached out to me, sharing personal stories which related to mine.  Her article, “My Beloved MacBeth”  was beautifully written and heartfelt.  I’ve been a fan ever since.

Julia Williams – Julia is a fellow roller coaster enthusiast, and I love her pieces on the subject, as well as some gardening stuff she’s put out there.

Ryan Christopher DeVault
–  Ryan reached out to me early on, complementing me on one of my pieces.  I was impressed with his status on AC and have been a subscriber to his work on a wide variety of different topics.  Great Source!

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?

JM: I love coffee, especially Café Verona from Starbucks.

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?
JM: Roller coasters and amusement parks are my passion.  Unfortunately, living in the cold winters of the Northeast, I only get to enjoy them for a few months out of the year.

SK: Your favorite article topics to write about are…
JM: I love writing about music.  I was a mobile disc jockey for twelve years, and my love of music far surpasses all of the passions of my life.  I also love to share my enthusiasm for roller coasters.  I hope to pen some pieces about Italy, a place I’m proud to have descended from.  I’ve already begun work on a longer piece about the country, and I eventually plan to pare it down so I can share it with the readers of AC.  I believe my best writing, though, comes through on my relationship articles.  With those I write from the heart, and I think it shows!

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Source?

JM: The most valuable lessons I’ve learned through my association with AC are to keep at it and to reach out to other Sources.  Consistent writing gets you noticed and keeps you motivated.  Making connections with other Sources adds to the experience and helps in your success.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:
JM: My favorite quote is the old Nike catch-phrase, “Just Do It!”  I think far too many of us needlessly procrastinate and don’t make the moves to get to where they want to be.  If you don’t go for it, you’ll never know!

“Don’t be a hater!” is another valuable piece of advice!

  1. Sabah,

    I just wanted to thank you again for taking interest in me and my writing. I’m proud of what I’ve contributed to AC and I appreciate getting into the spotlight a little more.

  2. Hey, John, I don’t remember seeing this! How did you get picked for this? Thanks for the mention. Luv ya, baby.

Leave a Reply

