Sabah

Who in the World is Rich Thomas?

In Uncategorized on April 26, 2009 at 7:21 pm

32916452812_0_bg

He began freelance writing in 1997 in the field of boxing journalism, and soon ventured into reviewing books, and his hobby soon become a regularly-paying gig by 2007. Writing is now the larger of Rich Thomas‘s two part-time jobs, and he works as a Travel Editor for two websites. Rich lives in Lisbon, Portugal with his wife, and is busy teaching English, working on a novel, learning Portuguese, and entertaining his two dogs – and still manages to squeeze in time for AC.

Here’s what this Source has to say about writing for Associated Content:

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?
RT: I found it based on a recommendation from someone who was reading my blog. I wrote that I was experimenting with performance-based writing, and they suggested I look at AC.

SK: What inspired you to join?
RT: Compared to what I was doing back in the very early days of my current run as a freelancer, it offered the best deal: a combination of flat-fee and performance payments.

SK:  Your favorite content category to browse at work:
RT: I was the test subject in Travel for the Category Editor program, which I suppose makes me the “Senior Travel Editor.” Therefore, I spend the most time ferretting out travel articles for featuring, and looking for good authors who need pointers and encouragement.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or only for AC?
RT: Yes, I currently do work with Demand Studios, Need-an-Article, E-Lance, Lime Exchange, Glimpse Magazine, and many others.

SK:  Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?
RT: Strangely, it was the “How to Build a Boxing Gym” article. It gets few comments, but a steady stream of hits.

SK:  Name one website you visit at least once per day:
RT: Past Gmail? My work sites.

SK:  Three Sources that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:
RT: My boxing co-producer Jake Emen, Carl Benjamin for the sheer variety of material he does, and Heather Carreiro. I sometimes mine her ESL materials, as I’m a part-time English teacher.

SK:  Your favorite form of caffeine?
RT: Tea. I detest coffee.

SK:  A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

RT: These days its hiking.

SK: Your favorite article topics to write about are…
RT: Travel and boxing are the big two.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Source?
RT: When it comes to performance payments, think about working in volume.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:
RT: It has been said by many writers over the years, so I cannot tell you who said it first. Whenever someone asks me about writing for a living or writing my novel or whatever, I always send them “The dullest thing in the world, both for the writer and the reader, is to write about writing.”

Leave a Reply

