Sabah

Who in the World is Andrew Minzak?

In Interviews on April 16, 2009 at 6:18 pm

new-head-shotAfter 15 years of success as a baseball player that started off walking his first 8 batters, then hitting the 9th before getting pulled, this AC Source switched gears to write about sports instead of playing them.

He’s recently finished writing his first screenplay, and almost finished his second; he’s also the reigning 2006 shuffleboard champion on a cruise to Alaska.

Andrew Minzak believes there’s nothing better than early-mid 90’s music and taking it in with a nice cold Dos Equis. He’s also a firm believer in awarding fantasy points for ‘Super Models Dated’, and has been playing Fantasy Football for over a decade. I caught up with this talented sports fanatic to find out who in the world Andrew Minzak really is:

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?
AM: A friend of mine mentioned this site to me as a way to make some extra cash and also build an online portfolio, so I decided to check it out.  I was actually more interested in building my online portfolio, but AC offers a lot of opportunities to make some extra money.

SK: Your fairly new to AC; what inspired you to join?
AM: Once my friend told me about AC, I thought it would be a great way to get more practice and improve my writing style.  I’ve gotten alot of great feedback which is exactly what I was looking for, whether it was positive or negative.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work:
AM: I usually don’t go online at work, but once in a while on my lunch breaks I’ll check out AC and Bmorelive.com.  I will also try and get any sports updates through CBS Sportsline or Yahoo.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications or only on AC?
AM: I have been doing some work for http://www.Bmorelive.com as their Baltimore Orioles Correspondent, and thatwork has found its way into the Baltimore Guide as well.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?
AM: I did a piece on the NCAA tournament and broke down the last ten years statistically, and used info that to create a guideline for people filling out their brackets.  That got alot of views which was pretty cool.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

AM: I check out CBS Sportsline and Yahoo at least once a day to catch up on sports news.

SK: Three CPs that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:
AM: On AC, it would probably be Hawk32, Javanx3d, and Ryan Christopher DeVault.  All three of them are very good sports writers.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?
AM: Coffee and coke (no, not that kind).

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?
AM: Writing in general is a favorite hobby of mine.  I have been working on finishing up my second screenplay, and getting ready to start my third.  Hanging out with family and friends and causing general mischief also rank high on my to do list….

SK: Your favorite article topics to write about are…
AM: Sports mainly.  My screenplays are pretty random, so if I had to narrow it down, I would say sports, namely baseball and football.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

AM: Keep learning and writing.  There’s always something new to learn, so try to take it all in.  Also, the more you write, the better you will get.  You’re not going to be a great writer at first, but if you keep at it, you’ll most certainly get better!  Another bit of wisdom would be for writers to not get discouraged.  It seems like everyone and their mom wants to be a writer, but only a few ever get to where we would like to be.  I’m sure it has something to do with them never quitting and everyone else they were competing against giving up.  The longer you stick with it, the better you will get, and also things will start to turn up.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?
AM: I don’t know if I have one in particular, but I just try to work hard.  Nothing comes easy.  At least not for me anyway.  Through hard work, you’ll be able to realize your goals.

  1. Cool! Haven’t heard of Andrew before today – nice to read about him.

Leave a Reply

