Sabah

Who in the World is K. Karl?

In Interviews on April 3, 2009 at 8:30 pm

k-karlThis full time mom of two young boys is always on the move, and works as a surgical nurse on the weekends.  When she’s not busy working, Kim Karl is drumming up some interesting articles on Associated Content.  She says her mind is always reeling with ideas and stories, so writing is her perfect outlet.  Kim’s currently working on a novel for young adults, but is still a regular contributor on AC.

I caught up with Kim recently to find out what she’s reading, enjoying, and how she gets her caffeine fix to keep up with her busy lifestyle:

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?
KK: I participate on a money forum. One of the other participants mentioned that you can make a little extra money writing for AC and other online websites. I thought that writing would be fun, signed up, and here we are.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work:
KK: I can’t really browse anything at work, but I catch up quite a bit at home. I love Home Improvement, Parenting, and Business and Finance. Of course, my favorite category is Health and Wellness.

SK:  Do you write for other online sites or publications or only on AC?

KK: The wet noodle beatings from Angie finally sank in. I have started to put some non-exclusive articles up at Constant Content but I’ve only sold two for usage rights so far. I’m perfectly happy just writing for AC for right now.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?
KK: I haven’t done many News articles because I really lack the experience needed for that. My most popular article is iCarly and the Pak-Rat Video Game. It was a Display Only that I put up to test the Google Trends waters. I’ve had many anonymous comments from kids. I’ve also had to delete many more comments because the kids feel the need to post their personal information, phone numbers, addresses, and email addresses.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:
KK: I visit AC almost every day, except on the weekends. I stop into Webwriters on Ning at least once a day just to see if anyone’s around or to ask advice.

SK:  Three CPs that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:
KK: I started reading your interviews last summer and I would like to say that I agree with all the other AC Weekly interviewees on their picks. This is just my way of sneaking in more than three.

I would like to add to those CPs previously mentioned that much of my inspiration has come from Charlotte Kuchinsky’s poetry. She always manages to compose the right words beautifully just when I need them the most. I also love Linda StCyr. We joined at about the same time so I kind of feel that we have grown up together. Debbie Henthorn gives me a unique perspective on things that happen just two hours south of where I live. I also have to add that Maria Roth is hysterical and I love her creative writing.

I could keep going but I will say that I enjoy everyone on my Favorite’s list.

SK:  Your favorite form of caffeine?
KK: French vanilla coffee or Pepsi. I am a caffeine junky, if it doesn’t contain caffeine then it’s not worth drinking.

SK:  A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?
KK: Right now AC is my main hobby. I’m secretly holding out hope that it will someday help pay for college for my two boys.

When I’m not writing I enjoy all kinds of games: board games, card games, and Wii. I actually keep my own saved Wii games separate from kid’s files so I can play after they go to bed.

SK:  Your favorite article topics to write about are…

KK: Life. I love to write about every aspect of life: parenting, health issues, and finances. It is wonderful to hear that I’ve helped someone else who has the same situation or condition. I think that knowing that someone has “been there, done that” and then seeing that they can move on is very important.

SK:  One pearl of wisdom for any AC Source?

KK: I would have a difficult time trying to narrow down just one pearl of wisdom. I guess an all encompassing point would be: Find out what you don’t know. Once you know what you don’t know, you can then learn. In order to learn, you must listen to the experts. Seek out the experts and become a sponge.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:
KK: “The only reason to be a writer is that you can’t help it.” By Leo Rosten. This quote just speaks to me. I never considered being a writer, it just sort of happened.

  1. Great interview! Cool to see a pic of Kim – I saw it once, briefly !

Leave a Reply

