Sabah

Who in the World is Cathy Montville?

In Interviews on March 20, 2009 at 8:00 am

ac-new-bio-176While she takes her writing and entreprenurial endeavors very, very seriously, this AC writer isn’t shy about kicking back with some beer and poker; especially if she’s winning her husband’s money.

A self-proclaimed ghost hunter and haunted house enthusiast, Cathy Montville is working her way around the web to share articles about holidays, travel, ghosts, spirituality, relationships and more. She’s also one of the newest Category Editors on AC.

I grabbed a spot at the poker table to catch this busy writer in action, and to ask her a few questions about life on AC territory:

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?
CAM: AC was actually where I went to read while I was at work. After a month of discovering some fabulous writers, I decided to try my hand at writing after several years on hiatus.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work:
CAM: I love the Lifestyle section and especially the sub categories, but I also adore History, Holidays and Prose.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications or only on AC?
CAM: I write at Helium to keep my writing stars up, but AC is my main outlet.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

CAM: My most popular article, surprisingly, is “A Humorous Holiday Memory: The Christmas Coat Caper.” It is a true story about my sister and I getting into our gifts prior to Christmas Day! It’s a great memory for me and I am sure many people can relate!

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:
CAM: I visit Facebook at least once a day! I meet up with other AC people and my daughters! It’s a lot of fun and a neat place to hang out!

SK: Three CPs that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:
CAM: The first person to inspire me at AC was jcorn and I will always be grateful to her. Charlotte Kuchinsky provided me with the opportunity to become more visible by including me in her annual Thanksgiving article last year, which was so thoughtful of her. I follow so many CPs (sorry, Sources…cannot get use to that)and look forward to their work, I am hard-pressed to pick just one.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?
CAM: Coffee, coffee and more coffee! I prefer Kona and do not like flavored coffee at all!

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?
CAM: I study metapyschics and in the warm weather, my husband and I take off on our Harley every chance we get. We love to ride and it is a hobby we can do together!

SK: Why did you want to be a Category Editor?  What is the best part of your role so far?
CAM: I have spent so much time reading outstanding work here on AC and I thought a Category Editor would be a way to surface some of that excellent writing for everyone to read! AC is a vast library of information with many, many talented writers, who appreciate and adhere to high standards of quality wrting. This is a terrific way to bring those people to the forefront. The best part of this role so far would be the fun group of AC writers who have come together to help each other in the learning process of this new program.

SK: Your favorite article topics to write about are…
CAM: I write a wide variety of content, but my favorite articles are parenting. I am able to use my life experience as a mother and now, a grandmother of four! I take care of two of my grandchildren (5 year old and 11-month old) every Friday so they give me tons of material to write about. I like to write some news and sports articles here and there, as well. I like writing in general, so it is hard to pick just a couple topics.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

CAM: Write what you know and write from the heart. The rewards will follow!

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?
CAM: “Believe you can…and you’re halfway there!”

  1. Very nice!

  2. Awesome interview, both of you! I enjoy Cathy’s writing and it was very interesting reading more about her. She’s also doing an excellent job as a Category Editor. 🙂

  3. Great interview and very well described about Cathy Montville. Cathy Montville you are always my favourate.Keep the good job.

Leave a Reply

