Sabah

Who in the World is Rodney Southern?

In Interviews on March 8, 2009 at 2:00 pm

cowboyYou might remember this CP in the spotlight in early 2008 with his winning entry for the ‘Ultimate Call for Content’ contest. Rodney Southern has been a part of the AC world since July ’07 and is among the Top 1000 Content Producers for 2008.  He’s been writing about movies, parenting, medical news and drumming up a slew of how-to articles over the years.

Besides being a prolific CP, Rodney is a full-time Dad, husband and freelance writer. I caught up with this busy cowboy to find out who in the world Rodney Southern really is:

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?
RS: Originally, I was just surfing around the good old web, and came across an article by Pam Gaulin.  It was very well done, and I reached out to her.  Soon thereafter, I signed up and began my AC journey.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work:
RS: Well, I am a full time freelancer so I work from the house.  My biological dad was not around very much when I was a kid, and I always promised myself that I would not make those mistakes with my kids.  I got lucky, and was able to keep that promise through writing.  That said, I am constantly looking through the Entertainment, Religion, and Sports categories.  Also, any articles about animals or reptiles.  Love snakes and spiders!

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications or only on AC?
RS: I currently have a ton of outside clients, and also work for Demand Studios, Ehow, Helium (some), Hubpages, and three blogs.  Most of my work now is through direct clients though as the money is much better.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?
RS: Well, Oddly enough the Ultimate Call for Content article is not it.  That article did quite well, but it is not my number one article on AC.  I started doing NFL football picks last year, and this year was huge.  Not only did I pick up hundreds of subscribers to my work, but I also got a ton of google juice on those.  I picked each of the seventeen weeks of the season, and the views on those range from 5,000 to 35,000 views each.  Those are my money makers right now.  Also, I have an article on horror movies that gives me about 2,000 views minimum per month.  I have about 42,000 views on it as of now.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:
RS: I visit many, but my favorite regular stop is ESPN.  I am a dude after all.  I do love going to Facebook as well. Look me up on there!

SK: Three CPs that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:

RS: This is a tough one because there have been so very many.  I would say that Pam Gaulin is certainly atop that list, because she has always made herself available and helpful to me.  I think that she is the absolute top of the heap in that area.  She has helped me so much.

Another would certainly be Randy “Barefoot” as he keeps me exploring my humorous side.  I am blown away by his work on AC, and his blog “Barefoot Scribbles” is another daily stop for me.  Both directly and indirectly, he has been a mentor of sorts to me.

Finally, I would say that Angie Mohr makes the list.  I can go to her for anything, and she always has time for me.  That is one reason it drives me nuts when folks give her flack for being blunt.  She is one of the kindest, most dedicated people you would ever know if you simply allow her to be.  She has her moments, but who doesn’t?  I will take her on my team any day of the week.  Please know that this list is far from comprehensive.  I have a ton of folks that I love here.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?

RS: I am a coffee dude, but I also love my good old southern sweet tea.

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC

RS: I teach dance, play softball to stay in shape, and spend tons of time with my wife and kids.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

RS: Lose all your ego at the door.  If you come to AC with an atmosphere that you have no idea what you are doing, you will learn and grow.  If you come in as though you have it all down, you will not succeed here.  The greatest CPs are the ones that constantly look and listen for a better way and the latest change.  If you do not do this, you will become dated very quickly in the freelancing world.  Allow yourself to be helped on a regular basis.  You will be glad that you did.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

RS: It is a dog eat dog world, and I am wearing milk bone underwear!

  1. I never knew these things about Rodney. All my dealings with him have been a positive experience for me, too. Thanks, Rodney. Your comments about me have given me a new reason to write.

  2. Great interview Sabah, Rodney is definitely one of the people I love to see in the forum and it is good to know more about him. Of course the love of Sweet Tea makes him even more likeable.

  3. excellent interview!

  4. Another great interview! I love Rodney’s articles and style. I am appreciative of being mentioned, and grateful that I could inspire someone and share the opportunities I have found at AC in online writing.

  5. Another great interview. Rodney is always so positive and cheerful, a great guy!

  6. As usual, great work, Sabah. You had a great subject too. Rodney is a truly genuine person.

Leave a Reply

