Sabah

Who in the World is Heather Adams?

In Who in the World? on February 25, 2009 at 8:00 am

heather-adamsThis North Dakota native was a music major in college and actually hid the fact that she could write from the newspaper.  However, her creative talents took over and she now works for the local newspaper as a reporter.  Heather K. Adams is also making her rounds on Associated Content, turning out articles about parenting, music, cooking, health and education and other lifestyle topics.

She says she is now addicted to writing, and is working her way up to becoming a professional freelance writer. I caught up with Heather to find out how she fuels her caffeine addiction, and her best picks of noteworthy CPs:

SK:  How did you get started with writing for AC?

HA: Actually, it was someone who knew Sabah who got me started on AC! I’m a reporter for my local weekly newspaper, and he encouraged me to read Sabah’s content on AC. It took me a while to get into the groove of things, but soon I was hooked.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

HA: Since I work at a newspaper, news is my favorite category to browse at work. That way, if I get “caught”, it’s at least related to my line of work. I can’t imagine what kind of grief I would get for reading one of Kelly Spies’ articles on sex toys at work!

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications or only on AC?

HA: Not really. I’ve posted a couple articles on Constant Content, which were accepted right away, but they are just collecting dust. I’ve started looking into other venues, but I’m content at AC for now.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

HA: Sexual Abuse of Toddlers: Six Behavioral Signs to Look for in Your Child I have mixed feelings about my best performer. It was such a difficult article to write because it was so personal. I shed many tears when I was writing it, but I felt the need to get the information out there to help other parents who have found themselves in the same situation. When I check the page views every update, I’m torn as well. On one hand, I’m happy that my article is helping so many parents, but on the other, it’s sickening that so many people need the advice offered in that article.

My next highest evergreen performer is Lost Tampon: Symptoms, Removal Tips, and Prevention.  Make of that what you will!

SK:  Name one website you visit at least once per day:

HA: I’m slowly getting better at logging in on Facebook. I’m on Web Writers on Ning several times a week.  Of course, I can always be found on the AC Forums. Sometimes I even take a break from fighting with Angie Mohr over Rodney Roller to answer questions.

SK:  Three CPs that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:

HA: Angie Mohr inspires me to not make mistakes, because she called me the grammar police in the AC Forums and then couldn’t find anything wrong with my articles. She’s also excellent with the moral support; she doesn’t mind it when I vent at her! Hartley Engel was one of my first subscribers (betcha didn’t remember Hartley had a ‘knitters’ group!) and I love his personal perspective in his news articles. Pam Gaulin is always so helpful in the Forums and via pm, plus her articles give me ideas on what works and what doesn’t work at AC.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?

HA: I’m addicted to Diet Mountain Dew. I drink at least six cans a day.

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC

HA: I’m a divorced mother of two young children – one with special needs – so I don’t have time for hobbies! When I can catch some free time, I’m usually reading. I love Laurell K. Hamilton and Dean Koontz. Even though I’m not a crafty person, I love pressing and framing flowers and have several creations decorating my house.

SK:  One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

HA: Use your own personal experience to write. If it has happened to you, most likely it has happened to others who need advice on how to handle things. It also cuts back on the amount of research you have to do. Really, anything can become an article. My son toe walks, and just from that experience, I’ve written several articles on the condition itself, the treatment, the Shriners, and Amtrak. I’ve also done a few news articles on the weather in North Dakota, which have performed nicely. Just look around you and write!

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:

HA: “Words are all we have” — Samuel Beckett

  1. Interesting info Heather – nice to read more about you!

  2. Great advice Heather. Now I must be off to write an article about forgetting to turn off the stove!

  3. Excellent stuff… Heather is so cool.

  4. Great interview – Heather is a great lady.

  5. Heather has a GREAT personality. She helps around the Forums seemingly tirelessly. (Although she must be tired sometimes). Kudo’s for Heather! Good interview.

  6. Funny and bold! Green and gold! Thanks for wordsmithing, love.

Leave a Reply

