Sabah

Who in the World is Tamara Waters?

In Who in the World? on February 22, 2009 at 10:00 am

head-shot-try-this-oneAs a young girl, this CP would write up her own family newspapers using a toy typewriter for Christmas.  Flash forward a few decades, and she’s cranking out articles about personal finance, home decorating, holidays, education, crafts and history.  She’s a homeschooling Mom who’s happy to share she’s kinda quirky;  I managed to catch up with Tamara Waters to find out how she got started on AC, and who she’s reading right now…

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?

TW: I saw an ad on freelancewriting.com for a website looking for content writers. I checked it out and decided I wanted to give it a go. That was in January 2006.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

TW: Well, I work at home, but when I browse I like Lifestyle, Crafts & Hobbies and Parenting.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications or only on AC?

TW: I write a weekly column for a local newspaper. I write for PNN – Personal News Network (frugal advice and money saving tips) I’ve just started writing for Demand Studios and eHow.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

TW: Hmmm, I’ve had almost 10,000 hits on an article I did on teaching kids about Easter, but I’ve had plenty of comments from real, live people about a tongue-in-cheek piece I wrote about dealing with a zombie infestation in your own community.

SK:  Name one website you visit at least once per day:

TW: The USGS earthquake tracker – I’m just quirky that way.

SK: Three CPs that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:

TW: That’s tough to choose only three – I read so many every day and AC has some great writers! Gayle Crabtree is one of my favorites. Amy Browne is so prolific that she inspires me to keep plugging away and write about everything and anything. I also read Kathryn E. Darden’s content a lot.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?

TW: Diet Dr. Pepper

SK: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC

TW: Gardening when the weather is warm, crocheting and making crafts other times

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

TW: Read and write regularly. Read other CP’s work regularly. Read books. Read magazines and newspapers – and pay attention to the words, writing styles and nuances. Write everything – every thought, every idea. Don’t ever give up on your dream of writing.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:

TW: Ummm, I can’t think of any favorites about writing but I love the quote “I’m your huckleberry” from the movie Tombstone!

  1. Hi Tamara! Great interview…

  2. Nice Interview! Thanks for the mention Tammy, I enjoy reading you as well.

  3. Tammy! What a great interview with you, and thank you so much for the mention!!! I enjoy reading your excellent content as well.

    I really appreciate the plug for my content! It is so encouraging to have my name mentioned in this way!

    – Kathryn

  4. Tamara,

    Great interview! I’ve learned a lot from reading your articles and am proud to be a fan. Your work is excellent.

    You Go Girl!

    Gayle

  5. Very interesting review. I’m learning there are plenty other soda-addicted homeschooling CP’s out there to join me. I think it’s because we do so much in a day while homeschooling that we need that boost of caffeine to get us through. LOL

Leave a Reply

