Sabah

Who in the World is Linda StCyr?

In Interviews on February 12, 2009 at 3:00 am

linconcert1When she’s not painting up a storm or diving into her antique book collection, this talented writer is busy sharing her unique point of view on a variety of current topics and newsworthy items.

Linda StCyr is a professional freelance writer and freelance artist who’s been with AC since May 2008 (she’s an AC young’un!). We’ve been enjoying her articles ever since, and you’ll probably catch her in the Forums more often than not.

I swung by Linda’s world to find out who in the world this CP really is:

SK: How did you get started with writing for AC?

LS: Accidentally, I was bored at home and decided I needed to find something to do at home in my spare time. I couldn’t get a regular job because my youngest was in school although I work as an Administrative Assistant to a real estate firm it is only a weekend job. Since I needed to earn more money to cover some extra expenses like cable I browsed the internet. I was delighted to find AC and really thrilled that they paid me for my first article. That was a lesson though, it was sent back 2 times before it was accepted.

SK:Your favorite content category to browse at work:

LS: Religion and Spirituality. I love hearing other peoples views on Religion so it is among my favorite categories to browse. You can learn a lot about people by the way they write about their spirituality. Although I am Pagan I really enjoy everyone’s diversity on AC.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications or only on AC?

LS: AC opened doors for me that I didn’t think were possible to walk through. I can now call myself a Freelance Web Writer because of the start AC gave me. I write for Demand Media, Bright Hub, Helium, AC, Textbroker and currently am actively sending stuff out to print magazines.

SK: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

LS: Right now my most commented on article is Michael Phelps Caught Smoking Pot- Torn Feelings from a Previous Pot Head.

Although I don’t think it is as newsworthy as this piece about the horrors being committed in Papua New Guinea to those accused of Witchcraft.

SK: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

LS: Google, I am always searching for something whether it is for fun or for research. Second is the AC forums.

SK: Three CPs that have inspired you/whose work you enjoy reading regularly:

LS: There are so many and you only want me to pick three, ugh! That is harder than you can imagine. All of the CP’s I have personally interacted with have inspired me in some way or helped me grow as an AC writer. I am a big fan of K.Karl, 3lilangels and Charlotte Kuchinsky but I also have learned from Michelle Devon (Michy), Pam Gaulin (Thank goodness for her challenges, they keep me on the ball), theBarefoot, EMohrman (he helped me out when I first got here), Angie Mohr, Heather K. Adams, Sandra Peterson, Tsu Do Nimh and many others. Another of my current favorites to read is Snidely Whiplash (his in  your face approach is great).

Sorry I couldn’t keep that to three just way to many to choose from!

SK:  Your favorite form of caffeine?

LS: I can only pick one , ugh! I am a coffee snob and love my French Vanilla General Foods International Cafe coffee. My significant other calls it my $9 coffee because it is expensive for a really little tin. One of my many vices.

SK:  A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC
:

LS: I paint and also color in coloring books. My hobbies include painting, drawing, reading and listening to loud rock music.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

LS: Learn from those around you. There are many CP’s who have been here a while and they once started out just like you. They have learned things the hard way so listen when they tell you something!

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

LS: I love quotes of all shapes and sizes. My favorite writing quote though is tied between these two:

“Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.”  ~E.L. Doctorow

” Writing is learning to say nothing, more cleverly every day.”- Willliam Allingham

  1. Just needed to clarify, my youngest was not in school thus at home prohibiting me from the “real” job. I even have typos in email lol.

  2. awesome interview. I didn’t know Linda was into antique books. we have a shared love!

  3. Great interview, Linda! thanks so much for the mention here too. That honors me!

    Love and stuff,
    Michy

Leave a Reply

