Sabah

Who in the World is Ann Olson?

In Who in the World? on August 13, 2008 at 6:00 am

ann olsonDetermined not to fit into the stereotype of a ‘fluff’ web content writer, this CP is busy producing “weird and obscure” content for AC.

She’s half-Korean and is fulfilling her dreams to become a published author by building her writing skills on Associated Content.  If you haven’t read any of Ann Olson’s work lately, make a point of checking in with this talented contributor.

Here’s Ann’s take on life as a content-producing maven:

SK: What first got you interested in writing for AC?

AO: Despite the fact that I am very childless, I used to frequent the WAHM.com boards, and one of the regulars on there mentioned AC.  I didn’t believe her at first, so my account sat dormant for a couple of months.  I decided I’d give it a whirl again in November, and I ended up liking it very, very much.

SK: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

AO: I just randomly click on pretty avatars and read away.

SK: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

AO: I used to write for a couple of other sites when I was in high school.  I was a big writing junkie back in the day (and by back in the day, I mean 3 years ago).  Right now I’m pretty much your typical AC lifer, but I do write for a couple of other places.  Just not as frequently.

SK: What is your most popular article, and your inspiration for writing it?

AO: Around half a year ago I wrote an absolutely heart-wrenching piece called “Help, My Poop is Green!“.  I’ll make this short, but my cat and his shenanigans put me up to it.

SK: Another CP’s article that has really inspired you?

AO: E’s fascinating article about tic tacs inspired me to leave the house for extended periods of time.

SK: Three CPs you’re raving about right now:

AO: Shamontiel absolutely deserves a mention for her ability to really dig into societal and personal issues most people wouldn’t have the guts to talk about.  I also think Fabletoo deserves a mention because she offers a truly intimate look into Thailand.  I admit I’m a bit biased since I’m a bit of an asianphile.  Charlie Bradley, who was already featured on here, deserves a mention also because he writes about subjects most of us would be embarrassed to mention.  Heck yeah!

SK: Name a website you visit at least once per day:

AO: Just one?  Actually, I’ll give you a bunch!  I visit AC daily, of course, but I heavily frequent Sherdog.com, Livejournal.com (I’ve blogged there since I was 14), and a couple of health-related boards.  You’ll never find me on message boards, though.  I participate in stealth.  I go by a lot of weird names.

SK: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

AO: I like the weird, the obscure, and the…well, weird.  I also refuse to publish articles with fluff, so expect lots of delicious information.  Ann always equals quality weird stuff.

SK: Your favorite form of caffeine?

AO: Right now I have four cases of Diet Dr. Pepper in my pantry.  If I’m awake, I’m drinking it.  Sometimes I drink sugarfree Red Bull for an extra kick.

SK: Your favorite hobby outside of writing for AC?

AO: Some of my relatives say my favorite hobby is inhaling bowls of ramen, but when I’m not writing and inhaling ramen, I’m usually married to my PS3.  I also weightlift for the pure hell of it.  I also watch MMA, some professional wrestling, and Korean comedy shows.

SK: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

AO: I don’t remember quotes too well.

SK: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

AO: Don’t ignore the advice given by the regulars.  They’re right 99.99% of the time.

  1. Hey Ann, congrats. A good interview and a terribly nice pic! 🙂

  2. Diet Dr. Pepper is the bomb!

  3. You are an inspiration to us who are fighting with and learning how to write for the Internet. I enjoy your articles and look forward to each and every one.

  4. Congrats, Ann.

Leave a Reply

