Sabah

Who in the World is Scott Kessman?

In Interviews on March 30, 2008 at 7:00 am

This published author is ready to take on the world with his talents with the recently released The Tales of Tanglewood: The Lon Dubh Whistle, a modern tale of folklore and fantasy, but when he’s not following his dreams as a professional writer, Scott Kessman is sharing his talents on AC.

This CP’s articles touch upon travel, product reviews, current events and health. I caught up with Scott to learn about his aspirations and inspiration for writing on AC and otherwise so we could all learn who Scott Kessman really is:

S: What first got you interested in writing for AC?

S: I found AC by browsing a forum about freelance writing, and immediately started writing about anything and everything. I found that writing for AC was a great way to learn more about other things I love, as I usually researched several resources for many articles

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

S: Probably the Lifestyle category, because you can find such a broad mixture of interesting, informative, and entertaining articles

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

S: Although I don’t write articles as frequently as I used to, AC is still the only site I currently write for. I have found AC to be consistent as both a source of extra revenue and great content. Of course, any site has its own quirks and imperfections, but overall, I’ve always been happy with AC.

S: What is your most popular article, and your inspiration for writing it?

S: I have quite a few that seem to be highly popular, so my favorite of the bunch would have to be my article entitled “The Rules of Office Kitchen Etiquette”. I think anyone who has worked in an office environment can appreciate this article, and it is definitely something that needed to be written. I’m sure it’s posted in quite a large number of office kitchens.

S: Another CP’s article that has really inspired you?

S: One particular article that sticks out in my mind is “Owning a Business is Not a Real Job – So They Say” by Aly Adair. It’s a great insight into the state of the current job market and the world of entrepreneurship

S: Three CPs who you think deserve a mention and why:

S: The Barefoot Peddler, EMohrman, and Jeanne Marie Kerns. Regular contributors to the forums and probably on a large majority of AC subscriber lists, these three content producers are well-established on AC and have produced an eclectic mix of articles on a large variety of topics. There are of course many content producers worth mentioning, but any regular on AC is probably already aware of them

S: Name a website you visit at least once per day:

S: Aside from the AC forums, I’m guilty of checking my own website several times a day, in order to check the visitor count. www.talesoftanglewood.com is the official website for my first published novel, and I do take particular delight in seeing the visitor count rise steadily.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

S: I think I’ve written at least a few articles for everyone and anyone. Reviews of local attractions & restaurants, travel destinations, food & recipe info, health-related articles, product reviews, a few humor pieces, and a lot more.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

S: Black tea, often of the flavored variety. Sometimes I make my own.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC

S: I have a large collection of music and movies to enjoy when confined to the indoors, otherwise I can often be found in a park somewhere, gathering inspiration for the next volume of The Tales of Tanglewood.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

S: Don’ take rejection personally. AC is certainly over-saturated with content, and what might be popular one day on the internet can be dead news the next. Write well, write often, and follow the advice in the forums about how to write specifically for AC.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

S: Writing is a creative journey that begins in the mind, an impulse inspired by thoughts, pictures, feelings, and sounds. The writer takes those impulses and composes them into a format by which others can experience those same visions and ideas. A writer can transport you from your current surroundings to a mystical place of faraway legend. A writer can influence and inspire you to new levels of motivation. A writer can move us, rousing feelings of laughter and tears, anger and fear. A writer can do many things, but a writer is powerless if his words never reach an audience.

Leave a Reply

