Sabah

Who in the World is Michy?

In Interviews on March 20, 2008 at 6:00 am

michyShe earned one of the People’s Media Awards in 2007 for her outstanding writing on Associated Content, and this word maven runs her very own freelance writing business, Accentuate Services – when she’s not penning a few words for AC, of course. A novelist, poet, and successful business owner, this CP is a valuable resource for tips and insights for any AC newbie.

Michelle (Michy) Devon is a well-known CP who declares she has an addiction to AC, and has published four (real-world) books with two more on the way. I caught up with this busy CP to learn who in the world Michy really is:

S: What first got you interested in writing for AC?

M: I run a writers forum at www.writersforum.info, and regularly post paying writing jobs there, but I also check out writing opportunities and websites too, to see if they are legit or worth sharing with others. I had seen AC being talked about around the writers forums, back when it was still very new and their publishing model was very unique. There wasn’t a lot of very positive things being said about AC, since writers tend to balk new publishing models, but it was enough I finally figured I’d check it out for myself and see if it was worth promoting on my forum. What’s that they say that there is no such thing as bad publicity? I guess I must have thought AC was worthwhile, since nearly two years later, I’m still there, and I’ve shared my addiction with others and they are now stuck on AC too!

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

M: Actually, I don’t work, exactly. Writing and editing is all I do for a living, from home, usually sitting in my recliner with my laptop, and half the time I don’t even bother to get dressed in the mornings, just throw on my robe and slippers (Uhm, no, you dirty minded folks; I don’t work nekkid! Well, at least not all the time.) I make a decent living at it, but I’m not sure I could really call it work. I love my life. AC is a very small part of my writing though, but I do find myself wishing I had more time to put into AC, especially now with the Performance Bonus.

Generally speaking, I don’t browse around AC much, but I do like to check out people who leave comments for me and occasionally will browse whatever I find featured on the front page. I really don’t have time to just browse AC, because I always make time to visit anyone who comments on my articles. Here recently, everyone has been so great about leaving wonderful comments that I haven’t had time to do any casual browsing!

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

M: I do write for other websites, such as Helium and Suite101 and a few others, but my primary focus is my novels and print writing. I have four published books and am working on two more that will be published before the end of this year through two different publishers, so they are keeping me busy. Writing online is great for getting your name out there in Google, but the money and my passion is in print, and it always will be. Of all the websites I write for, I do enjoy Associated Content the most.

S: What is your most popular article, and your inspiration for writing it?

M: The article I have with the most page views is Corporal Punishment in Schools. There are over 120 comments on this article, and that’s not including the many I’ve deleted because of extreme profanity. Apparently, some people have very strong opinions about whether or not children should be spanked in school. The inspiration for the article was my son, before I started home schooling him, and a situation that arose with him at school back in the 7th grade (was written in 2006). I submitted it as an opinion piece for free, and it’s turned into one of my best paying articles as far as performance bonus. The comments though are, well, odd is the best way to describe them.

S: Another CP’s article that has really inspired you?

M: Rebecca Livermore wrote a series of articles about being a member of a Christian cult and how she managed to make her break from being caught up in that world. I can’t say it ‘inspired’ me, exactly, but it fascinated me, and I thought she showed a lot of strength writing about things so personal to her. I read each of the articles in the series, and left thinking her story would make a fascinating book. I hope she considers writing her memoirs or even making a fiction story about it some day. Of course, that’s the editor in me speaking.

S: Three CPs who you think deserve a mention and why:

M: Oh, gosh. There is no way I could narrow it down to only three people; no way at all. I do have my personal favorites though, two in particular who I never miss a single thing they write, and then some people who are personal friends or have become friends since being on AC, and I try to never miss any of their stuff either. However, I interact with so many people, I simply refuse to single anybody out and have to exclude anyone.

S: Name a website you visit at least once per day:

M: Humm, just one? The one I probably make sure to hit every day is my own writer’s forum, make sure everything is flowing right there. After that, let’s see, there are my blogs on blogger (blogspot), Myspace, Helium, and of course, Associated Content.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

M: Because I am a very wealthy and influential woman who has hired a mafia hit man to take out anyone who refuses to read my articles.

Seriously, though, no one should read my stuff. They shouldn’t. I mean, no one should read it, I just hope that people do!

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

M: Coffee. Love the stuff. I’m limited on how much I can drink of it, but I absolutely love coffee and flavored creamers. When I can’t have coffee though, sometimes music, loud and fast, can substitute for caffeine for me. I love the Philharmonic Orchestra when I’m writing. Hooked on Classics is great to clean house by as well. I know, I’m strange.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

M: Writing and editing is about all I really do. It’s both a hobby and a job. I do like to write poetry sometimes, when I’m in the mood. I also play a little piano and guitar and write music, but at the end of the day, my computer is probably my best friend, a tool, an object of inspiration and sometimes the target of immense frustration. It’s a love/hate relationship, really. Same with writing. So, yeah, writing is both my hobby and my job.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

M: Yes… set your ego aside when you write for AC. In fact, set your ego aside when you write for anyone other than just yourself. AC is a great place to showcase whatever type of writing you want, but don’t walk away from AC thinking they are the do-all and end-all in writing. AC is one very specific type of web content writing in order to be successful on that site, and it’s not for everyone or every type of writing if money and upfront payments are your objective.

If I can give any AC CP one piece of advice it would be: keep writing. Seriously, ignore rejections or comments or snarkiness that are of no help, pay attention to advice from those that do help, pick and choose what works best for you, keep increasing average page views, and just never stop writing. You will eventually find your purpose for writing, your own niche for what works for you and what doesn’t, but that will only happen when you keep writing!

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

M: Jack Canfield, the co-creator of the Chicken Soup for the Soul series of books, was once quoted saying, “Don’t give up if you really feel your dream and have a passion for it.” This what I try to teach others and is how I live my life, with passion and determination, living my dream and sharing it in ways I never dreamed.

  1. Awesome! Thank you so much, Sabah. I enjoyed it and now, I’m off to tell everyone to come read you!

    Love and stuff,
    Michy

  2. Great stuff. We all know she meant me when she so politically stepped around the “Name three CPs who you think deserve a mention and why,” question. Even though that’s not a question. Huh? Now I’ve questioned myself, which is what Michy has inspired me to do.

  3. Michy is the best. She took a look at one of my lame short stories and gave me some great insights – for free. I probably owe her $60 for her time.

  4. Michy has been an invaluable resource to me in the short time we have known each other. Her willingness to help other content producers, no matter the problem, is widely known on AC and is very much appreciated. Thanks for another great interview!

  5. I got so caught up reading Rebecca Livermore I had to come back 🙂

    Michy is all too modest. At the very least every CP should read her. But, I believe she has something to offer any reader, whether they write or not.

    This was a wonderful interview; you did a fantastic job with this.

    Thanks for the new name Michy. I think it might stick (giggles)

  6. Michy is a valuable asset to AC. I have learned so much from her advice as well as her writing.

    Awesome interview! 🙂

  7. Michy is one of those rare individuals who shares her hard earned knowledge of writing and publishing freely and with the kind of gentleness that is often rare in cyberspace. Great interview, AC Daily.

  8. This is really nice. You did a great job with the interview of a special lady. Nice to see this site too.

Leave a Reply

