Sabah

Who in the World is Momie Tullottes?

In Interviews on March 14, 2008 at 6:00 am

MomieYou’ll find her prowling on the AC forums more often than not, making her rounds on AC with a daily visit, and and leaving friendly comments on articles each week. Momie Tullottes is a happily married mom of six (yes, six), working toward a degree in Early Childhood Education and homeschooling four of those six young ‘uns for success.

Her aspirations of opening up an early learning center for low-income children are in the works, but in the meantime, you’ll find her uploading dozens of creative, insightful, and just plain useful articles on AC. I caught up with this busy mom to learn who in the world Momie Tullottes really is:

S: What first got you interested in writing for AC?
I was perusing the internet for writing gigs and I happened upon an ad for AC. I checked it out and found it suited my needs perfectly. Being a stay at home mom who also homeschools the kids, my time to work is somewhat limited. AC gives me the freedom to work as little or as much as I can, doing something I have a natural love for.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:
M: I would have to say that there’s a tie between education and parenting. Both of those categories always keep me interested.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?
M:
I do write for other sites and have my own website for private offers. I have also published a book on positive parenting tips. However, AC is my primary focus.

S: What is your most popular article, and your inspiration for writing it?
M: My article with the highest number of page views (and still counting) is “Fisher Price and Mattel Recall Extensive List of Toys, Including Elmo and Dora”. As a parent, how could I not be interested in this story and in informing other parents about this danger? Having access to such a wonderful resource as AC, I would not feel right if I didn’t spread the word. In fact, this incident and article inspired me to keep track of the children’s product recalls and continue to report them on AC. I also ended up creating Safe Toys For Kids, a website for toy safety.

S: Another CP’s article that has really inspired you?
M: There are many CP’s and articles that have inspired me. However one CP in particular sticks in my mind for more than article. Dr. Jamie Y. Marable’s article “Someone’s Success Story Could Begin With You” is a must read for anyone.

S: Three CPs who you think deserve a mention and why:

M: Only 3? This may be the hardest question to answer. There are many talented writers at AC. Besides Dr. Jamie, mentioned above, three notable CP’s include Michelle L. Devon (also known as Michy), Kim Linton, and Lee Andrew Henderson.
As most who frequent the AC forums know, Michy is extremely helpful in all things AC. In fact, without the help of Michy and others in the forums, I likely would not be succeeding so quickly on AC. While I have been writing since I was a preschooler, web writing was fairly new to me when I came to AC. Aside from her wise words in the forum, I have learned a great deal just from reading Michy’s content.

When it comes to Kim Linton, I always know that anything she writes on Christianity is going to touch my heart and provoke me to think at the same time. Even the comments she leaves on articles are often inspiring.

Lee? Well, whenever I need my sports fix or even a laugh or two, I can count on his writing. Some of his pieces have made me think, while others have had me chuckling out loud to myself.

S: Name a website you visit at least once per day:
M: You mean besides Associated Content, right? I practically live on AC. I would have to sadly say that I visit the CPSC (Consumer Product Safety Commission) website fairly often.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?
M: Wow! What a question. I’m pretty humble when it comes to talking about myself, but I will say that besides my parenting tips, I do have a variety of helpful, as well as interesting content on various topics.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?
M: That would be a tie between Mountain Dew and Vault. Oh, and plenty of chocolate, of course.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC
M: I like to let loose and play right along with the kids. If anyone saw me in action with them, they might mistake me for one.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?
M: Write what you know, let the words flow, and fill in the web-friendly stuff afterward. My most successful pieces of content are the ones on topics I have experience in.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

M: “If we aren’t willing to pay a price for our values, then we should ask ourselves whether we truly believe in them at all.” – Barack Obama from his book Audacity of Hope

  1. Thanks again for the interview. 🙂

  2. Momie is all over the place. She is one of the few CP’s who has left me a few comments that are always nice and helpful. I appreciate it.

  3. You asked very good questions of Momie. For all that she does, it seems there has to be more than one of her. I just read her book and it is excellent (and she doesn’t charge as much as she should!), I would recommend it to all, it’s easy enough find out how to get it, as there is only one Momie Tullottes on the internet.!As I try to choose the right words here, it is tough, but let me try. Momie is a moral person but she does not moralize upon weaker souls such as myself. She is inspirational and at the same time down to earth. Thank you for the interview, Sabah!

  4. Want to know even more about Momie? I interviewed recently to find out about the private life, loves and inspirations for Momie Tullottes as well as just some of her favorite things. Check it out! One of my favorite AC writers that it was great fun to learn more about personally.

  5. Momie Tullottes is an amazing woman. I have never met someone as young as she is who has as much wisdom and insight. She is truly a kind hearted person who wants to make the world a better place. Great interview Sabah!

  6. Aww, thanks for the kind words everyone – very touching. It means alot to me. 🙂

  7. Momie Tullottes is a force to be reckoned with! Her drive and dedication are unparalleled. She was among the first AC writers to reach out to me as I was learning the ropes, and she has been a source of inspiration and support ever since. I am humbled that she referenced me and my work in this interview. She epitomizes the very article of mine that she mentioned: “Someone’s Success Story Could Begin With You.” While I would hardly consider myself a true success at this stage in my life, I still owe a world of debt to individuals like Momie – the angels on earth – who are never too accomplished to believe in others or too busy to lend a helping hand or offer words of encouragement. I celebrate Momie’s success as a writer and I know that this is only the beginning for her!

Leave a Reply

