Sabah

Who in the World is Jody Morse?

In Interviews on March 12, 2008 at 6:00 am

jody morseWhen this talented writer isn’t browsing the humor and entertainment section on AC, you’ll find her publishing content on a variety of controversial subjects on topics – many that have ruffled a few conservative feathers on AC. Jody Morse has quickly become a well-read CP, and enjoys writing for Helium and other online venues as part of her freelance career.

I caught up with this prolific writer to learn about her inspiration for writing, why she can be found reading cleaning product labels on any given day, but most importantly, who in the world Jody Morse really is…

S: What first got you interested in writing for AC?
J: At the time, I was doing a bunch of different freelance writing gigs for a few main clients, but I was also recently taking up a few new ones. I wanted to make sure that they were legitimate, so I did a Google search with their names and every single one of them lead to AC. I wasn’t sure what it was exactly, but the more that I read about it, the more I wanted to try it…so I did.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:
J:
Humor, Arts & Entertainment

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?
J:
I have several clients that I write for and I’m in the process of trying to get officially accepted by Demand Studios. I’ve also tried out Helium Marketplace. I love AC the most though, mainly because it is so community-based.

S: What is your most popular article, and your inspiration for writing it?
J:
My most popular article is “5 Reasons Why the Saw Movie Series Should Be Put to Rest.” It’s one of my articles that continues to get tons of page views and comments. When I wrote it, I was just in the mood to rant about the movie. I didn’t think that anybody would even read the article, but it was featured for the entire opening weekend of Saw 4. Unfortunately, it’s also probably my only article that I’m not so proud of.

S: Another CP’s article that has really inspired you?
J:
It’s so hard to choose just one because there are so many great, inspirational articles on AC. One of the articles that has left an impact on me is Living With Agoraphobia by Kelly Spies. I really think that it’s very brave to write about this type of personal experience and to me, that’s very inspirational.

S: Three CPs who you think deserve a mention and why:
J:
It’s really hard for me to choose only three because I’ve met so many CPs along the way. For articles about traveling to the UK, I’d have to recommend Sophie. For religious-based articles from a really sweet person, I’d choose Kim Linton. For DIY or craft articles, I’d recommend K. Ray. For great reviews, my picks are Lisa Riggs, Amy Brantley and Kassidy Emerson. For enjoyable, easy to read articles on just about any topic, I’d have to say Pam Gaulin, Donna Porter or Rodney Southern. If I had to choose three CPs who really speak their mind, both in their own works and in comments, I’d have to say Carol Bengle Gilbert, Jack Oceano and Hannah.

S: Name a website you visit at least once per day:
J:
Besides AC, Yahoo to check email and read news.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work? 🙂
J:
Of course, I can’t force you to read my articles, but I do encourage you to. I would like to think that my articles help people, in some way or another. Since I write about so many different topics, my hopes are that a wide range of people will benefit from my writing. Besides, you never know what I may pop out next. I try to think of topics that people are probably wondering about but are hard to find information on, such as “Are Sex Toys Safe to Use During Pregnancy?” ( ) and “Are You a Vegansexual.”

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?
J:
Chocolate! Especially dark chocolate.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC
J:
I like to read. A lot. If there’s no reading material in the house, I even resort to the labels of cleaning products and food items.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?
J:
Never be afraid to get as creative if you want, even if it means that you’re writing about something controversial. Some of the best works on AC can be considered the best because they’re different from everything else. If you’re too afraid to submit a piece because it seems too risky, you’ll never know. Even if you do get negative criticism on a piece, just remember that it was good enough to spark some type of reaction from others.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?
J: Life is like photography, you use the negatives to develop the big picture.

  1. Great interview! Jody has some unique content and she always does it in a way that is somehow enjoyable, entertaining, and informative at the same time. 🙂

  2. Hey- nice article, and Jody’s really nice, too.

  3. Jody consistently produces quality pieces that feature some of the most unique topics that I have seen on AC. I marvel at her ability to hit what’s hot on every occasion. Thanks for another great interview!

  4. Jody produces a lot of interesting articles on AC that are well written and top quality. You never know what she will have published next, her work is so varied. She has a great writing style that I also like.
    Sophie

  5. Hey, I had no idea that you published this already! You did a great job with it! Thanks for doing it! = )

Leave a Reply

