Sabah

Who in the World is Joseph Nygard?

In Interviews on February 29, 2008 at 8:00 am

joseph-nHe spent four years in the Army and 16 months in Afghanistan, and this 26-year old Dad has found an outlet for all his experiences on Associated Content. Joseph Nygard considers himself an ‘amateur,’ but his work on AC has attracted plenty of attention.

A positive attitude, a passion for writing, and a daily The Onion habit are just a few things that describe this talented writer. I checked in with a few Q&As for The AC Daily, and learn, who in the world is Joseph Nygard?

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

J: I was broke! I was prowling the internet looking for ways to make extra money, part time jobs and what not, and I stumbled upon AC. I knew I was good at writing so I figured I’d give it a try. I haven’t made too much money yet, but it is very fulfilling.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

J: I like humor, and news.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

J: I wouldn’t say I’m a lifer, but AC is the only site I write for now.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

J: My 1st article,  Was Christmas Better in Afghanistan? so far has gotten me the most comments and responses. It was featured on the main page the day it was published which was very motivating for me.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

J: I’m a news junkie so I visit cnn.com, bbc.com theonion.com etc

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

J: I’m an amateur but I have been through some things that many people know nothing about, and I think I’m a damn good writer!

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

J: Oh boy, I work in a bank and I was in the military so you’d think coffee right? Honestly I’m not big on caffeine. I have enough energy as it is. I get energy everytime my 10 month old daughter wants me to crawl around the floor after her.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

J: I spend most of my free time with my wife and daughter, they keep me going. I missed my daughter’s birth because I was in Afghanistan, so I guess I’ll always be trying to make up for not being there.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

J: AC is great for amateurs like me because you get a lot of support from fellow writers. Don’t be scared, write about anything and everything, don’t ever hold anything back because it embarrasses you or because you think people will laugh or make fun of you. Let it all hang out!

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

J: From my dad when I was in Afghanistan……”write more letters! Instead of this impersonal email crap!”

Leave a Reply

