Sabah

Who in the World is Don Simkovich?

In Interviews on February 27, 2008 at 8:00 am

don-simkovichHe’s the CP who snagged an interview with the CEO of the Tournament of Roses for one of his most popular articles, and continues to write unique and interesting topics on business, marketing, and sports.

Don Simkovich is the busy CP who’s leaving a trail of articles on Associated Content, and hopes to venture forward into the web with his own business entities. I sat down for a quick Q&A to learn who in the world Don Simkovich really is:

S: How did you get started writing for AC?

D: I was going a search on Google for something and came across the site in 2006. Then I signed up as a CP but I didn’t start writing until March 2007.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

D: Money news . . . sports 2nd

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

D: I’m still only learning all about blogging, online writing. I’m seeing how immense it is. I write 90% for AC and I just started submitting a few articles at Helium which I may continue doing. However, I feel there’s more “control” at AC and it’s more upfront and less subjective.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

D: My most viewed piece is an article “Should You Invest or Pay Down Your Mortgage?” I think it’s also my least commented oddly enough.

My most commented right now is my first article, “How Much Should You have in a Marketing Budget?”

My most newsworthy was published New Year’s Eve on how much money the Rose Bowl makes for Pasadena. It’s a huge sum and I did an interview with the CEO of the Tournament of Roses. Another article is on buying a home after foreclosure.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

D: www.associatedcontent.com and http://www.bloomberg,com

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

D: I think they’ll gain an appreciation for parenting special needs kids as we have and they’ll gain valuable business tips on marketing and writing.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

D: Diet Pepsi

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

D: Running, hiking and acting

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

D: Enjoy your time and write with the long haul in mind. Don’t expect a big following for the first 3 – 6 months and don’t even expect to make much money unless you already know how to promote effectively. The money on the Internet is in the Page Views – I don’t care what the industry is!

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

D: “The best writing is from re-writing” . . . a quote from Ernest Hemingway.

Leave a Reply

