Sabah

Who in the World is Jamie Wilson?

In Interviews on February 25, 2008 at 8:00 am

She may be from Kentucky, but is now basking in the sunshine and palm trees in Hawaii, right next door to Pearl Harbor. Jamie Wilson is a popular CP in the AC Community, a prolific writer who also has her own website JamieKWilson.com to showcase her talents.

Jamie was one of the first writers to join Associated Content in 2006, and has since developed a strong portfolio of articles – you may have ‘met’ her on the forums as well. An aspiring novelist, work at home mom, and avid reader, Jamie Wilson stays busy with dozens of hobbies and enjoys living her real-life romance story.

My schedule was booked for a trip to Hawaii to meet this talented CP, but I did manage to squeeze in time for a few Q&As via e-mail to learn who in the world Jamie Wilson really is:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

J: I taught myself HTML and did web page design and content writing for worksites back in 1998, partly because I was sick of being just a secretary. But until about 2005, I didn’t realize how much money you could make writing web content. I stumbled across a keyword article writing service and started doing those, then picked up other work, and in about six months quit my hateful temp job at Pfizer so I could build a career I could pack up and move with.

I found AC in early 2006, right after they went public, when some writers at now-defunct Write for Cash told me about it. I published two articles, was paid very well for them, and realized that I could write what I loved just as easily as what people paid me to write. I was one of the earliest CPs, but I didn’t start writing regularly until a year later, when they changed their pay structure to include the bonus.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

J: I work from home, but – probably Featured content and politics. I also read everything I see about the military and autism because both these issues affect me and my family deeply and profoundly. Surprisingly, I don’t read many of the parenting articles, though I write plenty of them.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

J: I have been trying to get into Suite 101, but so far just haven’t found the right category. That’s on my list of things to do. I ghostwrite privately for other clients, but other online sites aattnd pubs I’ve written for are out of business or on hiatus now. My plan is to not work at any site, but rather to write my own blogs and sites. I have some very good ideas that I’m going to implement this year, so we’ll see how that works out.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

J: Oh, gosh. Probably the one about door-to-door magazine sales people. Sometimes the comments make me just want to cry, and I’m still getting lots of visits and comments though the article’s over 9 months old. The one that makes me cringe is the one on funeral homes; it got viciously attacked by professionals in the industry, and I still have to write an article citing where I have my statistics. Two problems: some I got from print publications that are now back in a Groton, Connecticut, library, and some were on a computer that subsequently kicked the bucket, taking research data with it. So I have to basically start from scratch. I am not looking forward to it. (I guess I should contact MagstheAxe, who’s a good friend of mine from back home — she’ll have the resources, duh.) (come to think of it, I should do an article about this article, on how free speech can be squashed if you’re not careful and why it’s so important not to let it happen. Hm.)

I also have an article about how my youngest son was diagnosed PDD/NOS, which is a high-functioning form of autism — and a second article talking about how I realized that I have the same thought patterns and bizarre habits he has. There’s so much more to autism than we understand, and it’s not all bad.

As for an article right now, I have a lovely gem filled with the appropriate drinks for political candidates. I found it funny when I wrote it, and I think it has the potential to go viral, but it hasn’t gained a lot of attention yet.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

J: Yahoo News, Wikipedia, Gmail, Google, AC, Freelancewriting.com. I think that’s it. I check out a few blogs on a regular basis as well — Little Green Footballs for undercovered news and media bias, and then some milbloggers — but not on a daily basis.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

J: I’m constantly surprised when people tell me they enjoy what I write, and that’s not false modesty. I often cringe at my own writing, though I have a few articles and stories that I find just marvelous.

I guess my strengths are variety, uniqueness, and thought-provocation. I can’t pin down a specialty, so I just write everything that catches my attention. I also tend to write things that are interesting or bizarre, but haven’t gotten lots of attention. And I try to do the kind of research that digs below the surface and turns up new information and evidence. My reward: I’ve caught trends that the mainstream press did not start reporting until months or years later. For instance, my article on modern pirates, and my article on contemporary slavery. PV tracking shows the hits spike when the news actually starts talking about them, and I get to pat myself on the back.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

J: Big Red soft drink, but they don’t sell it here in Hawaii, damn it! Lacking that, very strong fresh Kona coffee from the Big Island, Turkish ground in my kitchen and diluted with a serious amount of flavored creamer.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

J: I’m not really allowed a hobby, according to my oh-so-spoilt 4-month-old daughter. But when I have hobbies again: sewing Renaissance costumes, reading and writing good accurate historical novels, playing tourist here on Oahu. I want to get into jewelry making and boating, and find a cheap flute so I can get back into music too.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

J: Write and publish ONLY what they will pay for, what you love, and what is popularly searched online — all three, not just one or two of these. Never sell them anything you’re not happy with, either. AC’s not a place for parking your poetry or selling school essays, at least not if you want top dollar. And remember, once you have a reputation and track record established here, you can’t unmake them.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

J: “I reject your reality and substitute my own!”, from Adam Savage at Mythbusters. When you think about it, it’s a pretty profound statement about how you are in control of your own destiny, though Adam used it to mean he wanted to break the rules of physics.

Then there’s my own quote, by me: “Half-full, half-empty, who cares? I know that pitcher’s around here somewhere.”

  1. It is interesting to learn a little more about AC writers – beyond their own writing.

    I have never known anyone else to like Big Red, that stuff is tasty. here in Arizona a few Walgreen’s stores sell a generic knock off. not the best, but it will have to do.

  2. Interesting interview. I didn’t realize Jamie had been around AC so long.

Leave a Reply

