Sabah

Who in the World is Deborah Dera?

In Interviews on February 9, 2008 at 7:00 am

She’s a 27-year old freelance writer from southern New Jersey, and works full-time in the insurance industry. While she dreams of shifting to writing full-time, Deborah Dera keeps busy with cooking, craft projects, and plenty of reading. She’s also a massage therapist, certified reiki practitioner, and martial artist.

You’ll find her work across the web, including her own blog, The Rhythm of Write. I caught up with this talented CP to find out who in the world Deborah Dera really is:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

D: I started writing for AC towards the end of March 2007. I was taking my Reiki I certification class on Tuesday evenings and one of my fellow classmates started talking about how he was making money to write about whatever he wanted. He was pretty opinionated and very funny so his stories made a mark on my memory. I was bored at work one day, so I emailed him to find out the name of the website. I was absolutely intrigued, especially when my first article was published. The rest is history!

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

D: I don’t really have a favorite category. I always browse the front page and check out the newest writers, but I spend more time going down the list of publication notices in my email inbox than anything else. If I had to choose a favorite category, it would be the health section.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

D: The old saying goes, “Never put your eggs in one basket.” I’ll always write for AC, but I’ll never write for them exclusively (unless they want to put me on some type of permanent salary! haha!).

Many of those who write exclusively for AC are the same writers who are yelping the loudest about the recent changes; they’re feeling the pinch the most. Unfortunately, change is part of life and we have to be able to ebb and flow and change with the tides. I write for a few other websites. Most important is my own blog, The Rhythm of Write. On my blog, I share tips, tricks, and the experiences I am having while trying to turn writing into a full time career!

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

D: My most popular article was titled, “Where Were You On September 11th, 2001?” I published it on September 5th of this year, for PVs only. I figured it was too close to the anniversary date of that day to put in the queue and epect timely publication. I saw quite a few hits on the article at publication, but I was incredibly surprised to wake up on September 11th to find my article as the feature on the front page, where it stayed for most of the day! The stories people shared were heartwarming and touching; they were worth far more than any payment AC could have given me!

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

D: You mean aside from AC?! I always visit ChrisBlogging , which is another freelance writing and blogging site. Chris has been in business as a full-time freelance writer for a while now, so I look to his posts for ideas and inspiration.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

D: I can’t force anyone to do anything, but I can promise to maintain my own levels of integrity and honesty in all of my writing. There aren’t many people out in the world who aren’t afraid of showing their failures and successes at the same time – I’m more than willing to share any experience I have with any of my readers. If you find I haven’t already published something, ask!

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

D: I’m not huge on caffeine, but when I am looking for a jolt I generally turn towards a Coke (preferably from a fountain like you’ll find at WaWa or a convenience store as opposed to right out of the can).

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

D: I’m a massage therapist, and I’m an advanced brown belt in the Tae Kwon Do Moo Duk Kwan USA system. I should be testing for red belt early this year and then I’ll be working towards my black belt test!

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

D: Don’t resist change. Take note of it and figure out how to make it work to your advantage. Acknowledge the concerns of others, but don’t internalize them and make them your own. Treading water over issues you can’t change will get you nowhere.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:

D: I don’t necessarily have a favorite quote about writing, but I have one quote/daily mantra I read every day:

“Every day, in every way,

I am better and better.

Every day, in every way,

Life is better and better.”

  1. […] on February 9th, The AC Daily posted an interview I did for them. “Who in the World is Deborah Dera?” can be seen by clicking on the link. It’s fun, and focuses mostly on my being an AC […]

Leave a Reply

