Sabah

Who in the World is Jeff Gorman?

In Interviews on February 5, 2008 at 8:00 am

jens-birthdayWhen he’s not announcing his adventures on ‘This Side of the Mic’, this sportscaster is juggling 10 part-time jobs: he’s a reporter for a local newspaper in Ohio, chats about everything there is to know about pro wrestling and ultimate fighting on his sportscasting segments, and even spends some of his days as a notary signing agent.  You might also catch him drumming up a few words for Fight Talk, a site about mixed-Martial Arts.

Despite his superhero-like itinerary each week, Jeff Gorman still finds time to write for AC. I snuck in some Q&A time with this talented CP to learn who in the world Jeff Gorman really is:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

J: Ever since our daughter was born four years ago, my wife has been finding me all sorts of work opportunities that I can do at home. The AC has been a great outlet for me to write about whatever I’d like for about a year and a half.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

J: I enjoy the Sports, Lifestyle and Arts & Entertainment sections.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

J: I have written for a weekly newspaper in Akron, Ohio, called the West Side Leader for the last five years. I cover high school sports and local politics. The paper’s website is akron.com.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

J: That would be Confessions of a Stay-At-Home Daddy – which was inspired by a similar article by a Stay-at-Home Mommy. I also got some good feedback on The Top Five Shows Your Child Should Be Watching.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

J: Wrestling Observer

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

J: I try very hard to write about things I care about and can bring a strong and perspective to. I do my best not to churn out content just to make money. I love wrestling, ultimate fighting, TV, movies and traveling with my family, and I hope people get that from my writing.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

J: Coffee (it’s my crutch)

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

J: Watching movies or singing Karaoke with my wife — playing Mary Poppins with my daughter

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

J: Don’t try to write about everything under the sun. Establish yourself as an expert on SOMETHING.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

“Don’t quote me on that?” – I say that all the time!

Leave a Reply

