Sabah

Who in the World is Donna Porter?

In Interviews on January 29, 2008 at 7:00 am

donnaporterA professional writer, fishing enthusiast, and avid reader of AC’s latest content, Donna Porter can be found exploring AC territory more often than not – you may already have caught her comments and witty remarks on the forums.

This CP is one of AC’s most well-read content producers. She’s recently relocated to Arkansas and is determined to find an equivalent thrill to landing an 18 lb., 36-inch Salmon. I managed to find her amongst moving boxes and furniture to sneak in a few Q&As and learn who in the world Donna Porter really is.

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

D: For several years I was largely a health writer but also did fair amount of business Web content, SEO optimization and Internet marketing fare. I had taken a lengthy hiatus and decided to take my writing career in a new direction, re-establish my skills and portfolio. Not long after I found AC.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

D: I don’t know I have a favorite as I am so busy reading my favorite CPs articles and some news, I don’t browse much. If I did, it would likely be technology, humor or health.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

D: Both. I have and do write and edit for other sites and a professional affiliate marketing publication. But AC is most rewarding and I plan to stay here as long as there are minutes left in the day.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

D: My most popular as far as pageviews is a MySpace Layout article, imagine that. Several are heavily commented on, some 50 – 70 or more times, such as articles related to AC. Child Molesters in My Neighborhood and Did I Get Bed Bugs on Ebay? are relative hits to name a couple. News is too diverse to select one, from Crest products staining teeth to Medicaid issues and Big Brother and one on a parent finding a photo of their murdered child in a game, I really can’t pick.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

D: Besides AC, Google.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

D: Hmm, this is tough as I don’t really have enough of what I call “the writer’s ego” to say. My strengths include my ability to find and organize information, assess it objectively and make it somewhat entertaining. I am told I’m blessed (or cursed) with tongue-in-cheek wit and I know how to make the search engines happy.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

D: Undiluted. We have two coffee pots running in our home.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC

D: I have several of nearly equal importance. Aside from cooking, I don’t know if I could live without my camera, audio books or fishing pole. And, my computer goes without saying.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

D: If you want to make money on AC, pretty much throw out the conventions you learned in school about writing and be or become teachable about online copywriting. Most people on the Net want to learn something of value, or be entertained, and not wade through rambling prose trying to find an informational nugget.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

D: I love many quotes, but the one that inspires me most is, We will either find a way, or we will make one. – Hannibal 210 BC


  1. Thanks Sabah…you did a find job here! The site is looking grand, too. Now that things have settled down a bit, I look forwared to reading the rest of your interviews.

  2. I enjoyed reading more about Donna. Well done and keep up the good work!
    Sophie

  3. Nice job on this. It is fun to learn more about Donna.

Leave a Reply

