Sabah

Who in the World is theBarefoot?

In Interviews on January 25, 2008 at 3:13 pm

barefootWhen you need some honest feedback on an article, send it over to The Workshop for this guru’s attention. He’s one of AC’s most popular – and helpful – content producers, the leader of humor on the AC forums, famous for his witty articles on AC and his insights on his blog, theBarefootScribbles.

Yet theBarefoot insists he is a tremendous bore, and claims that:

He has little time to write and less of an inclination to do so. He works long hours every day not writing. The most joy he has in his daily routine is coming home and finding the dogs have not crapped on the rug. He recently stopped drinking and no longer has a real desire to live other than to pay his mortgage and credit card bills. He truly lives one day at a time which makes him unpredictable, unreliable, and sometimes smelly when he forgets to shower.

In hopes of making his life a little more exciting, I offered him some Q&A time for The AC Daily so we can all learn what in the world theBarefoot is up to these days:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

B: I saw someone talking about AC in a forum I frequented when I was working part-time from home for ShopNBC. I looked at some of the posts in that forum and compared them to the articles at AC and thought, “Why give it away for free in a forum when I can submit it for money?”

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

B: Humor. I love a good satirist.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?
B: My life and day job keep me pretty busy. I tried a few other sites, but could put what I consider the quality of effort into them. I keep things simple and write my more formal work for AC and post informally on my blog.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

B: That would have to be My Top Eight Reasons for Hating MySpace . It really has nothing to do with MySpace, but some people just don’t get the satirical point and post all sorts of crazy comments.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

B: The on-line time card system for my company. It’s the law. I have to log my time daily.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

B: It’s utilitarian. Other than the handful of helpful articles on writing, I think my work stands up as an example of solid writing for AC and otherwise.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

B: In the words of Philip Fry, “Coffee. Coffee. Coffee. Coffee. Coffee.”

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

B: Programming. I do it all day, but like to do it for myself when I find a need. I like solving problems.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

B: Keep it tight: tight topic focus, tight sentences, tight paragraphs and when you’re all finished and published, kick back, have a beverage and get loose.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

B: “A true friend stabs you in the front.” ~ Oscar Wilde
That holds true in relationships and writing critiques.



Leave a Reply

