Sabah

Who in the World is Opher Ganel?

In Interviews on January 24, 2008 at 7:00 am

associated-content-avatarWhen he’s not reading, writing, or off on a photography excursion, this Ph.D physicist is working up a storm of articles to tackle common problems in everyday life. Opher Ganel is making his mark on the AC Community with his unique perspectives on consumer issues, filing your taxes, and researching controversial subjects in depth. You can count on him for the myths and truths behind energy conservation and the real meaning of global warming, or find out how to ace that next multiple choice exam.

I caught up with this talented writer to find out what in the world Opher Ganel is up to on AC…

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

O: There are many topics I care very much about, such as financial literacy, social justice, consumer rights, etc. After reading for many years about these topics I found that especially as regards controversial topics, there were solutions or compromises that seemed natural to me, but which were not brought into the public conversation. For a couple of years I looked for a reasonable way to address my frustration in this until I ran across mention of AC. The model that allows anyone to publish, and allows the public to decide on how interesting and/or useful the content is seems to me the most sensible.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

O: At work I typically don’t spend much time browsing. However, outside work I read a great deal of news, domestic and international, as well as op-eds and financial articles.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

O: For now I am content (no pun intended) to concentrate on AC. However, at the advice of more experienced CP’s I only submit non-exclusive in case AC changes course and is no longer a good fit for me.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

O: My most popular piece so far has been Top 10 tips on How to Ace College Multiple Choice Exams. The most commented on were A Common-Sense Look at Taxes, the Budget and the National Debt and The Myth and Truth of Energy Conservation and Global Warming.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

O: My Yahoo. That’s my home page and I’ve customized it to show national and international news plus stories from the financial press.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

O: Because of my brilliant insights, of course :-). More seriously, I hope that what I write can make a difference by giving a point of view that is not frequently found elsewhere. One can always disagree with my opinions (and several comments left by readers show some do) but at least I hope they come away more thoughtful than they came in.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

O: Ice coffee, black, no sugar.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

O: Reading and photography.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

O: Read as much as you can by the AC “sages” such as Michy, Tsu, Barefoot and others about how to best write for AC. Be open to criticism so you can improve your writing and provide better value for your reader’s time.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

O: Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us, it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we’re liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

-Marianne Williamson, quoted by Nelson Mandela

  1. I have read some of Ophel’s work on AC and it is very informative! Thanks for this personal insight.

    Sophie

  2. I have read some of Ophel’s work and this interview makes me want to read more Thanks.

Leave a Reply

