Sabah

Who in the World is Pam Gaulin?

In Interviews on January 19, 2008 at 7:00 am

pam-gaulinIf you’re a regular visitor to the AC forum, you’re sure to have stumbled across the wisdom and advice of Pam Gaulin, one of AC’s most-read writers. You can also sharpen your social networking skills and join the AC Writers @ Ning, an online community launched by this CP who’s also helped many a newbie learn the ropes of writing for AC.

Pam Gaulin is a full-time freelance writer and work-at-home mom with a Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism. Though you’ll find plenty of helpful articles on AC, this talented writer also writes children’s books and novels; when she’s not busy writing, you’ll probably find her doing some yoga, finishing an art project with her son, or surfing the web for the latest news and trends.

I snuck in some Q&A time with this busy CP to learn what in the world Pam Gaulin is up to outside of writing for AC:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

P: I had been home with my son for 11 months after he was born prematurely, and I decided there was no better time to pursue my lifelong dream of working for myself and becoming a freelance writer. I had searched online for freelance writing jobs online, but I had never heard of Associated Content until I read the Writer’s Digest article “101 Best Sites for Writers.”

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

P: For me I work at home, and as a lifelong learner and generalist, I can say that I browse many categories. My top favorites would be Arts and Entertainment, Health and Wellness, Lifestyle and Technology.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

P: Yes, I write for under online sites under a pseudonym. I am also querying book publishers about a couple of children’s books.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

P: My most popular article based on pageviews is my very first article, “Jack and Jill Party Planning Attending and Enjoying the Couple’s Shower.” My most newsworthy article, which received outside attention is “Are Ethics Missing in Citizen Journalism?

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

P: Google Trends

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

P: Because you will either be informed or entertained when you are done. If we’re all lucky, you’ll be both.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

P: Green tea.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

P: Besides writing? Playing with my son, and doing arts and crafts with my son.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

P: Don’t be afraid of the commercial nature of web writing. Make it work for you, not against you.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

P: “The way you define yourself as a writer is that you write every time you have a free minute. If you didn’t behave that way you would never do anything.” – John Irving

I live and breathe this concept, as much as I can with a busy family life.

Leave a Reply

