Sabah

Who in the World is Sophie?

In Interviews on January 17, 2008 at 7:00 am

sophieIf you’ve been reading this CP’s work carefully, you may just pick up a hint of a British accent. Sophie has been writing for Associated Content since May 2007, a British expat who’s been enjoying life across the pond for just a little over a year now. When she’s not writing or developing new ideas for articles, you’ll find her catching up on current affairs online – from the BBC, of course.

She’s passionate about history, travel, and enjoys writing about new products she’s always sampling. I sat down for tea (over e-mail) with this talented CP, to find out who in the world Sophie really is:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

SS: I have always had an interest in writing and started to do so since the age of 11 when I started writing historical biographies. After moving to America, I wanted to work from home, but I was not sure what to go for. Then I narrowed my search down to writing websites and that’s when I came across Associated Content. It looked like something that would interest me and it offered me the flexibility I was looking for.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

SS: I love to search for articles to do with health, pet care, food and so much more. I have so many interests that I like to search for, that it is difficult trying to narrow it down to just a few.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

SS: Although AC is now my main online gig, I have also written for suite101.com, helium.com and triond.com. But AC is by far the best site I have written for and I love it here.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

SS: This came as a shock to me! I didn’t realize that my review about Strawberry Promise Activ Yogurt Drink would pull in so many page views!

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

SS: I like to visit the BBC news website each day so that I can catch up on current affairs and events at home in the UK.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

SS: There are many talented writers on AC whose work I admire a lot. I don’t consider my work to be exceptional, but if you want to learn more about immigration issues, the UK, cats or learn about a new product I’ve tried, you might want to check out my CP page.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

SS: I’m British, so it’s got to be tea* for me!
*editor’s note:  touche, Sophie.  Touche.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

SS: I love to travel, try different cuisines and watch historical films, especially films about the Tudors.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

SS: Some people see AC as a stepping stone to bigger and better things. But I would say that to be successful at AC, you must ensure that you are writing about a topic that is of interest and will be searched for. Watch your keyword density and write for the web. It is not the same as writing for print publications.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

SS: “If all else perished and he remained, I should still continue to be”. This comes from Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë. Even though I found this to be a very disturbing book, I have always remembered this quote.

  1. I really enjoyed getting to know you a bit better, Sophie! And it is great to see a pic of you that is big enough to actually show what you look like! 🙂

  2. I must say that I have known Sophie for a very long time. I absolutely love and adore her and one thing is for sure, she is 100% passionate about what she puts her heart into… Thanks to Sophie I have tried to encourage my own writing which I haven’t been able to do as much as I would like, but non the less, it is because of Sophie’s passion that I have broadened my own horizons… Thanks Auntie Soph…. I love you…

  3. Sophie is an excellent writer, she is one of my favorite CPs on AC. Kudos on the itnerview, and I agree, I love seeing a bigger photo of Sophie. More power to you Sophie!

  4. Wonderful Sophie!! You always write interesting articles.

Leave a Reply

