Sabah

Who in the World is Jcorn?

In Interviews on January 12, 2008 at 10:00 am

When she’s not busy playing super-reviewer on Amazon.com, this CP can be found sharing her tips and product reviews on Associated Content. From dysfunctional families to shopping and decorating, the award-winning journalist known as Jcorn has got you covered.

She’s determined to put the ‘fun’ in dysfunctional and dig up fresh ideas for a unique perspective on the facets of life. I convinced her to take a break from her Kindle to answer some questions and share a few pearls of wisdome for The AC Daily.

If you’ve found yourself asking who in the world is Jcorn?, here’s your answer to that burning question:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

J: Another writer on AC told me about the site and I’ve been hooked ever since. I wish I could remember the first person who mentioned it to me because I’d give her full credit here. After I got here, Donna Porter and Carole Bengle Gilbert were helpful as were many others. AC writers are often a great source of support and encouragement.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

J: I go to the AC features of the day section and see what is hot or popular there and in the subsections. Then I check out the work of my favorite writers on Gather. I discover new ones every day. I’d name names but the list would be long, long, long!

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

J: I’ve written for national and local magazines such as Weight Watchers, Parenting and had a monthly column in a city magazine till I become a full-time parent and adopted a special needs child. I won several national awards for my magazine writing (feature articles) but I also review and sell books so I have to budget my time carefully. I tend to spend most of my time on AC for now but I drop in on various blogs as well and check out things on Digg, too. I also sell rare books. In one form or another, much of my life revolves around literature, words and books.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

J: On AC, the article Appropriate Christmas Gifts for the Dysfunctional Characters in Your Family
was a feature, as was the info about the Overlooked Safety Hazards: Checks for Potentially Deadly Things in Your Home. As a general writer outside AC, my article on exercise-induced asthma was a hit in Weight Watchers magazine.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

J: Gather, of course (several times a day). I also visit Amazon books and maintain two blogs, one on books and the other focused on real estate topics.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

J: I try to write with my own voice and find the hot topics that haven’t been discussed before or put a new twist on an old topic (such as best gifts for dysfunctional family members). That was a feature, I believe, or perhaps it was the one on best movies for dysfunctional family members. Both were pretty popular.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

J: Double espresso.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

J: Gardening and reading (not at the same time). Playing with my Kindle, an electronic book reader. I also review books. I’m a top 100 reviewer on Amazon.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

J: Think outside the box and don’t focus just on page views or payment rates. because those will come automatically if you do your best work and learn the basics of Search Engine optimization. Do your best work and you’ll find your audience. Guess that is more than one pearl.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

J: I have a hard time with favorite quotes but I do appreciate thinking of myself as someone who knows how to put the fun in dysfunctional. “I know how to put the fun in dysfunctional”.

  1. Thanks so much, really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

