Sabah

Who in the World is Jennifer Thompson?

In Interviews on January 10, 2008 at 6:30 am

jennifer-thompsonAfter winning her first essay contest at the age of 12, this CP knew she had been touched by the writing gods to begin a journey towards writing for life. After a brief detour with a career in sales, Jennifer Thompson decided once and for all that building a freelance career and finishing school in her field was a much better path.

Now she’s an aspiring English professor who’s keeping busy with writing on art, history, and English literature for Associated Content while completing her undergraduate degree (with honors) from Park University.

As she counts down the days to graduation this May, she’s building her portfolio on AC and beyond. I caught up with this literary maven for a few Q&As so we can all learn who in the world is Jennifer Thompson really is:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

J: I was browsing the internet for additional freelance writing work, and came across a blog that recommended Associated Content.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

J: “Work” is freelance writing. I always look at AC’s front page, but my other favorites are Arts and Entertainment, Education, Lifestyle, and Society.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

J: I don’t exactly write for other sites that are content libraries, per se, but I am an expert reviewer for 3clix.info (currently down — being restructured), I write for essaywriters.net, content for websites, have one published ebook, write newsletters for businesses, life stories and provide editing services.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

J: The article that had the most page views, I believe, was “Body of Kansas Teen Kelsey Smith Found.”

Other articles may have more comments, however, as I have published some that seem to ruffle some feathers, such as “How Our Founding Fathers Were Actually Not Christians.”

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

J: My university’s online electronic library.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

J: Because I write so much about literature… literary fiction is the art form, in my opinion, that best captures our humanity.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

J: Coffee, and too much of it! My very favorite brand I buy as a luxury once in awhile (it is $40 per pound!). Blue Mountain – grown in Jamaica.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

J: Spending time with my three year old daughter tops the list, but second to that is study – reading and writing about literary fiction. I’m an aspiring English Professor, emphasis on literature, and naturally, a nerd.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

J: I don’t know if I’m the person to really pose this question to. My favorite pieces to write are not those that garner many page views…let’s just say that I don’t spark many literary discussions here. But the best advice is to write about what will give you the most page views – pay attention to what the top searches are, and write on those topics. Be sure that throughout your article, those keywords for search engine optimization (SEO) are dense.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

J: “Artists don’t talk about art. Artists talk about work. If I have anything to say to young writers, its stop thinking of writing as art. Think of it as work.”
-Paddy Chayefsky

I like this quote because it is so true. I writer doesn’t sit around thinking about the romantic, glamorous fantasy of writing. You know, the idea of being struck by inspiration and being touched by the muse. A writer works everyday, and their writing is their work.

Leave a Reply

