Sabah

Who in the World is Rebecca Livermore?

In Interviews on January 5, 2008 at 6:00 am

rebecca livermoreHer passport may stamped with all sorts of countries in Asia, but her ventures to the Far East aren’t exactly for a luxury spa.

Rebecca Livermore is helping one of the world’s largest faith-based organizations spread the words of the gospel, and her good words don’t stop there.

When she’s not working as the Director’s Assistant for WorldVenture, this busy mom is contributing to AC’s growing database of articles about society, religion, and new products for any busy soul.

She’s sharing her perspectives with the AC community–and beyond–with articles on the practical side of life, teaching children about Christianity, and her own challenges and successes in keeping the faith.

I caught up with this inspired writer with a few Q&As so we can all learn who in the world Rebecca Livermore really is…

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

R: I heard about it from some other CPs who spend time on the Faithwriters (www.faithwriters.com) forums. Initially I resisted writing for AC because I had previously written only for print magazines at a much higher pay rate. But the opportunity to write on virtually any topic really appealed to me so I decided to give it a try.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

R: Initially I browsed the Society category almost exclusively because that was where most of my articles fit. But now I’m trying to branch out to a lot of different categories and therefore am reading a much wider variety. Of course, I always read what is on the homepage as well.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

R: I am a staff writer for www.memorizetruth.com and also write a weekly devotional column for www.studylight.org. I’ve written for several print magazines as well, mostly for the Christian and homeschooling markets.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

R: To my surprise, two articles I wrote on the customs and culture of India have gotten more page views than anything else I’ve written. I’m not sure why that is the case, but because of that, and because I’ve spent time in India as an ethnographer, I’m considering specializing in articles related to various aspects of life in Asia.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

R: Associated Content is probably the only website I visit daily, besides my Yahoo homepage.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

R: Well, I’m not sure they should! But my hope is that my writing, regardless of the topic, will be authentic and will cause people to consider how they might want to grow in big or small ways, or cause them to look at the world a little differently.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

R: Peppermint Mocha from Starbucks.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

R: Reading and travel, particularly to various countries in Asia.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

R: It’s okay to slow down in your article output if needed, but don’t stop. When you stop, you lose momentum that is difficult to regain. I’m speaking from experience here! I had some other writing gigs that were more lucrative, so I stopped writing for AC for several months. It’s hard work to get the momentum going again!

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

R: “In our journals we benefit the most from honest writing, from pausing to close our eyes to select just the right word to pinpoint our thinking. We may not fully know what we think, but through honest, specific, written expression we usually find a developing clarity of thought. It serves no purpose to avoid the truth. Write candidly, even if you are not proud of the attitudes or lack of character that are revealed on the page. Perceiving our flaws can be the beginning of change.”

-Luann Budd, Journal Keeping

Leave a Reply

