Sabah

Who in the World is Elliot Feldman?

In Interviews on January 1, 2008 at 2:00 am

Elliot FeldmanIf you’ve ever wondered who’s behind the clever questions of online Jeopardy! or the witty comments on Hollywood Squares, don’t miss out on the chance to ‘meet’ this CP who’s made his way into the AC community.

He’s worked as an alternative media cartoonist for ‘The Los Angeles Reader’, created bad jokes for ‘Match Game’, and even written up wacky stunts for Nickelodeon’s ‘Double Dare.’ After a successful career in show business, Elliot Feldman brings us interviews with show producers, trivia quizzes, and unique articles about ‘the biz’ from behind the scenes.

His avatar is shrouded in mystery, and he rarely makes an appearance around the AC forums and community circuit. Still, I managed to sneak in a few Q&As with this talented writer and cartoonist to learn who in the world Elliot Feldman really is…

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

E: I’m a 61-year-old former professional TV writer. I moved from California to Florida a couple of years ago. Because I couldn’t find work in Florida, I was beginning to feel like one more washed-up show biz has-been. Then I started getting pissed. I remembered that ten years earlier I had made a living as a freelancer online. So I started looking around the Web and found Associated Content. Yeah, I knew it was chicken change money, but I began to feel like a professional writer again. Priceless.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

E: I skim all categories and stop at human interest articles that grab me.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

E: I’m freelancing for others thanks to AC. My collection of AC articles has served me well as a portfolio for getting other writing jobs. If I could pay my bills (argh) with Associated Content money, I’d become an AC lifer.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

E: My most popular article was strangely enough a news item about Bart Simpson’s nude scene in “The Simpson’s Movie.” My most-commented-upon articles have mostly been related to Hitler: Hitler’s American relatives, Hitler’s world’s fastest sportscar, and Hitler’s mountaintop resort now a luxury spa. As for newsworthy, again Bart Simpson’s nude scene.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

E: I like Metafilter because it’s a growing daily list of random weirdness and tiny information factoids from multiple contributors, almost all smart. I used to regularly visit BoingBoing, but feel like they’ve lost their way.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

E: I try not to put any unreasonable demands on anyone.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

E: In California, Diedrich’s French Roast coffee — black and no sugar. In Florida, Cuban cafe con leche or Cuban espresso

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC?

E: I’m also a cartoonist.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

E: Stay confident and keep cranking it out.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise?

E: “What this world needs is a good $2 room and a good $2 broom.” — Captain Beefheart.


  1. Kudos Sabah on a concisely and effectively conducted interview-good catch, too.

  2. And right on, write on, Feldman!

  3. This was so interesting. I like to know the backstory on AC writers and to discover their work. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

