Sabah

Who in the World Is marindavid?

In Interviews on December 30, 2007 at 10:00 am

marindavidWhen he’s not helping families work through problems as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), David Reinstein (a.k.a. marindavid) contributes to the AC community with a wealth of topics and ideas. You might have caught some of his Haiku poetry on AC, but marindavid also writes on mental health topics and ‘how to’ articles–the ones you know you really need. He’s committed to quality over quantity, and refuses to compromise his writing to please the eyes of the Google masters.

I managed to schedule a quick Q&A session (no couch needed) with this talented writer so we can all learn who in the world marindavid really is:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

M: I have been a writer of short fiction and poetry for many years and began back in 2003 writing product reviews for Epinions. I was frustrated in that 1) a person can only review items in their database – and adding a new product or brand to it is often near impossible, and 2) Writing product reviews is only satisfying to me in a limited way. Although I could publish non-review articles in their “Writer’s Corner’, no income is ever generated from such pieces. Then, a fellow Epinions ex patriot told me about AC – a site where I could write about whatever I chose, be paid ‘upfront’ for some of it and for aggregate hits on all of it. I decided to give it a try. Submitting my first piece to AC in mid-May of 2007, I have now posted nearly 350 pieces and write at the rate of 1-2 a day. It is an avocation/hobby. I have a day job


S: Your favorite content category to browse at work:

M: Musical instruments (especially acoustic guitars,) politics, poetry, parenting, child psychology and technology.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

M: When AC declines upfront payment for a product review, I shift it to being non-exclusive and post it elsewhere – including on Epinions where it earns me some additional income. I also publish some of my poetry on poetry.com under my own name. (David Reinstein.)

I also write (and present) training programs for the California State Department of Mental Health and customized songs for special occasions – and for special people.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

M: I have posted a handful with well over 1,000 hits – but my own favorites are those I have really put some thought, creativity and heart into. I would include , in that category, one piece I wrote on differentiating Depression from the Blues, one dealing with the predictable Crises of a Child entering Middle School and most of my Haikus. I believe that more than a few of my “How To…” articles are genuinely helpful to people. I am also partial to several guitar reviews I have posted including ones about the Martin HD28, Taylor 355, Blueridge BR180, and the Guild GAD30R.
Several of these (and some others) are oft quoted in other places as well.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day

M: Why, Associated Content, of course!

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

M:I can’t think of any good reason why anyone who is reasonably well balanced should read all of my work! What I advise friends and subscribers is to scan the titles and read whatever might grab their attention and interest. I write about a good many things and although I confess to having some pride in my own writing abilities, I have refused to shift over to writing for high-hit web publication (keyword density, etc) and continue to write about everything and anything I think about which I feel might be of interest (or sometimes help) to others. My writing is, I think, a pretty honest reflection of who I am and what I am about.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

M: PEETs coffee, French roast – hands down! Close second would be Dark Chocolate.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC

M: I own seven acoustic guitars, a banjo, ‘mountain’ dulcimer and ukulele. I try to spend some time each day playing at least a couple of them.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

M: Decide why you are writing. If it is primarily for income, learn the ins and outs of web writing so you will get paid ‘upfront’ for most of your submissions and they are more likely, as well, to rise to the top of the Google pile yielding many more Page Views resulting in still greater earnings. Or, decide that you are writing for your own gratification and pleasure, hang the money and enjoy writing for pleasure and recreation (as I have decided.)

M: I am told that these two options are not necessarily mutually exclusive. For me, they are.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise:

M: I have two: 1) If you want something to be different, you need to do something differently (Me), and 2) Smile, Don’t Worry – Be Happy (Mehyer Baba)

  1. David- great interview. I enjoyed “meeting” you! I love that you are a musician and play some of my favorite instruments. Love that homegrown music. I will check you out. Kudos to Sabah for doing this.

  2. Thanks, Donna-
    I appreciate knowing that you enjoyed it and might be checking out some of my work here at AC.
    Happy New Year!
    David

  3. A good writer and interesting person. I enjoyed the interview.
    A

  4. Very interesting. I read a lot of his work and have wondered about him. If he is this good at his ‘hobby’, he must be one heck of a therapist! Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

