Sabah

Who in the World is Donna Talarico?

In Interviews on December 29, 2007 at 8:12 am

Donna TalaricoYou may have caught this CP on the TLC reality show Help Wanted in 2004, but now she’s busy self-publishing books and working on her MA in Creative Writing. She’s worked in radio and media, and even explored the world via tour bus.

Donna Talarico’s articles on celebrities, music, and unique gift recommendations have caused quite a stir on AC, but she’s well-read in her Northeast Pennsylvania territory and keeps her writing life in balance with skydiving and rock climbing adventures.

I caught up with this busy writer for a few quick Q&As, so we can all learn who in the world Donna Talarico really is:

S: How did you get started with writing for AC?

D: I was finding a lot of freelance writing work online through Elance, but since I was writing on assignment I wasn’t writing what I wanted to write. I actually forget how I came across the link for AC, but I signed up the day I found it- back in November 2006. To me, it was a no-brainer. I was able to create new articles, as well as post articles that I had already written. Writing for AC has definitely kept me in the writing habit. I wrote on and off for a while, then consistently for about six months and then went on a hiatus again. However, I am back and plan to stick around. I need a writing community. It is so important. When you are creative and attached to your computer, you don’t always garner support or understanding.

S: Your favorite content category to browse at work?

D: Come on now. Don’t get me in trouble. I never browse AC at work. Haha. I actually don’t really browse by category; I browse by person or by what is popular and on the front page. However, I want to try to change that because I realize that there are so many great writers and such good content, that if I only read my “favorites” I am not getting the most out of AC. But, if I had to pick a category, probably Arts & Entertainment and Food & Drink.

S: Do you write for other online sites or publications, or are you an ‘AC lifer’?

D: Yes. My roots are in print media. Currently I write for my company’s print magazine, The eBiz Insider, which is also available online. I have been writing for The Weekender, a premiere arts and entertainment paper in Northeast PA (Think Village Voice) for about seven years now. So, locally I am read- or at least I like to think so. I have gone skydiving, indoor rock climbing, to a couples yoga class and gulp, had colon hydrotherapy done for the sake of A&E journalism. I’ve also interviewed all sorts of celebrities and notable people for the paper. I love it. You can see clips at donnatalarico.com. However, AC is different because I can write about anything I want, whenever I want and reach a far and wide audience. I also was a correspondent for a daily paper for several years and from time to time still submit features when I have a good idea. I also submit to Games Magazine. No matter where I write, I try to keep my whimsical, witty and friendly style alive.

S: Your most popular/most commented/newsworthy article?

D: My highest read article is my two-part series on my personal experience with the Sacred Heart Diet. My other really popular articles are Health Benefits of Semen, 11 Strange Mating Rituals, Breast Implants: Silicone vs. Saline, Sex Toys: 8 Celebrities Who Do It Themselves, as well as some holiday and local content that fared well.

S: Name one website you visit at least once per day:

D: So you mean aside from AC? Seriously though, I work in e-commerce so I am online all day, everyday. But when I am not at work (where it is firewalled), it’s MySpace. Also, the WebCT for Wilkes- to access my classmates and assignments.

S: One reason why everyone who’s anyone should read your work?

D: It’s fun.

S: Your favorite form of caffeine?

D: You know, Sabah. This is a wonderful question to ask of your fellow writers!! I drink coffee in the morning and tea at night. During the day at work, I drink either Red Bull or Monster. However, I have become to like the new trend, the 5-hour Energy Shot. I was carded when I bought those, by the way.

S: A favorite hobby when you’re not writing for AC.

D: Do I sound really lame if I say it’s writing? Hmm. I love board games, reading memoirs, blogging, going to day trips and trying new beers.

S: One pearl of wisdom for any AC Content Producer?

D: Be different. Write often. Don’t just write for AC, be active on AC.

S: Your favorite quote about writing or otherwise…

D: I love mostly everything Ralph Waldo Emerson said, but this is one of my favorites: “Enthusiasm is the mother of all effort and without it, nothing great was every accomplished.”

Leave a Reply

